I did something stupid

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by epmatsw, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. epmatsw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #1
    Ok, so I was running out of space on my Windows partition, so I decided to back up what was there and resize it. So, I tried backing up to an .iso, but the folder depth was too great, so that didn't work. I ended up just copying all of the files over to my external hard drive. As far as I know, there is an exact copy of my former windows partition on my hard drive, including the hidden folders. When I was done backing it up, I removed the windows partition using boot camp, and created a new larger one. I copied over all of the files and tried to boot from it. No good. It says that there is no bootable disk.

    Basically, what I'm asking is, is there some way to make this disk bootable since it has all the necessary files? Or am I going to have to reinstall windows and copy the files from there?
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Simply copying files from one partition to another doesn't make it bootable.

    Your best bet is to do a clean install of Windows on your newly sized partition, reinstall your apps and just copy your data back to the new install (as in your documents, music, videos etc, NOT the WINDOWS or PROGRAM FILES directories etc).
     
  3. epmatsw thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #3
    Shoot, that's what I was afraid I'd hear. This is what I get for doing operating system work early in the morning. Oh well. Maybe I'll install Linux while I'm mucking around with all this.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Next time use WinClone

    People need to stop being lazy and need to search.
     
  5. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #5
    epmatsw, i know this is a bit late but for future reference you could have used winclone to clone windows to a external re-sized the partition then cloned back or used easeus easy partition to simply resize the partition

    EDIT Consultant beat me to it while looking for links, darn it
     

Share This Page