I don't want to enter password to switch disks?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by benji888, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. benji888 macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    whyohwhyohwhyohwhy

    I did a clean install of Yosemite. I purposely did not set it up for a password to switch disks, and yet, I have to?!?!?!? Not only that, but:

    1) click the lock to unlock, enter password
    2) click the drive and restart, enter password
    3) enter password again!
    then it'll switch. Once in Mavericks, I don't have to enter password to switch back. I get back to Yosemite, and the lock is locked, even though I left it unlocked.

    This is unnecessary...anyone know how I can turn of this "feature"?????
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    Like it or not, you need to have an admin password set up in Yosemite. Otherwise, some admin settings (as you have seen) are unavailable or stay locked.

    Yosemite is not Mavericks.
     
  3. benji888 thread starter macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I've always used an admin password, since, IDK, snow leopard, but never needed it to reboot from another disk/partition until now???

    I was with the Yosemite beta program, and this never came up until I did a clean install after the beta program was over.
     
  4. benji888 thread starter macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Bump

    anyone know what I can do to change this?
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Go to the Security and Privacy pane in System Prefs and in the General tab click advanced then uncheck this box. I just tested in Yosemite and this makes the security lock go away in Startup Disk.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. benji888 thread starter macrumors 68000

    benji888

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Der :rolleyes:, thanks, that worked. :)

    I'm not sure if I checked that or if it was defaulted that way, first time I've done a clean install for several versions of OS X.

    I'm starting to think that it might be best to have a password to start up from a different drive, but, I don't think I should have to enter the password 3 times...instead of 3 steps to start from another drive, it's like 8 (I only posted how many times I have to enter password, but, it's 8 steps to start from another drive), it's just too much. I should be able to unlock it and put in password once, click, click, click and be done (5 steps). 8 steps, entering the password 3 times, is just too much hassle.
     

Share This Page