I doubled my O2 connection by putting my SIM into a Nexus One

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Kahnyl, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #1
    The SpeedTest.net app on iPhone gives me typical results for 3G of 1200whatevers to 1500. On my Nexus One, using the same APN and sim card, the Android version gives me 2700 to 2900 on "H", which I guess is HSDPA. Aren't these phones meant to get the same exact speed? Can someone explain this?

    I never did feel that the stuff about the 3GS being 7.2Mbps capable (on O2 Ireland, a network that supports that) really was any faster than my iPhone 3G, except for the difference in processor speed. Now I'm starting to think my 3GS is defective or something.

    It sucks. There's no way I can go another day using the Nexus as my main phone, but as far as internet loading speed, using my 3GS again from now on will be sorta annoying.
     
  2. Jinkst macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Location:
    London via Sydney
    #3
    You shouldn't have done it to yourself. This is the same case as I thought my iPhone 3G ran well until I used a 3GS, now my 3G feels like it's running so slow. The longer you use the Nexus for browsing, the more frustrated you'll get with the 3GS if the speeds are that different! It's a pain in the ass.

    I've also done the same test on my Hero. But got the same sort of connection speeds so it didn't really bother me. The deciding factor being that the Hero gets soooo many connection problems when downloading files or browsing that I just couldn't handle it anymore.

    But as for if they are meant to get the same speeds, at optimum, yes, they are both listed at 7.2mbps. But they won't always get that obviously. I also doubt that it's a once off, as the Nexus would more than likely outrank the 3GS in a speed test most the time. Why? I'm not sure, but my Android did the same, it's just nowhere near as smooth to run.
     
  3. patrickdunn macrumors 6502a

    patrickdunn

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    I wonder if I would get the same result on AT&T. I guess I have to wait for the N1 to get AT&T's 3G bands.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    It may be coming soon. This is of interest to me in NZ too, since my operator (XT) also uses 850 MHz.
     
  5. archipellago macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #6

    the iPhone isn't that good from a hardware point of view.
     

Share This Page