I failed in pwnage tooling my 2g

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tharian, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. Tharian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #1
    I am really lost here.

    I bought a 2g with 3.0 on it from a friend with a deactivated sim in it today. Went home and downloaded pwnage tool 3.1
    I downloaded the iphone restore file and everything. Went through pwnage until I got to the part about building a new ipsw. I am NOT prompted for any bootloader files. When I went to put my phone into dfu mode the pwnage said i had failed but itunes said my phone was in recovery mode. I optioned clicked restore and selected my custom ipsw.

    I got error 1604 and now the phone is stuck in a loop of Apple logo/ restore icon!

    Please, I need help desperately.

    I'm trying to use my 3g sim in this phone. That's all. I just want to sell my 3g and use the 2g! I'm not even interested in custom ANYTHING. I just want to use my sim with it! Why is this so hard to do????

    -d
     
  2. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    Try putting it into DFU mode to restore to 3.0: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ofpinyGlQ8I. Don't try 3.1 yet. In iTunes you hold option when clicking restore to be able to navigate to the right file.

    After it's done, just use RedSn0w to jailbreak and unlock, it's simpler:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4304

    That should get you all sorted out.
     
  3. Tharian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #3
    Thank you so much! I will try redsnow. My question is, is iPhone1,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw the file that I want to use to restore my phone 1st? I assume this'll put me back the way the phone was originally and stop the looping that's occurring. Thanks so much!
     
  4. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
  5. Tharian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #5
    I really appreciate the help. However, I'm still stuck. I put 3.0 back on the phone and then ran redsn0w. It said it had finished and I let my phone sit for about 15 minutes while it was rebooting. When it finished, it is stuck on the plug in to activate screen. This is the screen that'll let me make emergency calls. I plopped my 3g's active sim in it and got the same screen. Plugged into iTunes and got the "set up new account" screen.

    Thoughts?

    Update:

    I am able to get it to turn on (and act like a Touch) with the old deactivated sim. When I put in my active 3g sim it goes back to the activate with itunes screen. The software version in settings says 3.0 (7A341) if this helps. I didn't get any new apps (Icy of cydia).

    It also says in settings that it IS my 3g (the name of the device is the same as my 3g).

    -d
     
  6. Tharian thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #6
    Success!!!!!

    Here is an easy question. Now that my phone is jailbroken, can I sync it with iTunes like I used to? Can I use itunes to back up my info and sync my apps, etc?

    Thanks!

    -d
     
  7. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK

Share This Page