I finally did SDD samsung on mac pro 2009..and trim enabler...but...got question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by koban4max, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. koban4max macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #1
    I purchased the pro version of enabler..and I was wondering if i need to open up the app in order to activate trim or do i just leave "on" switch and quit app.
    Could someone answer this question? thank you.
     
  2. ybz90 macrumors 6502a

    ybz90

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #2
    You only need to do it once. Then you can delete the app.
     
  3. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #3
    Keep the app somewhere tho - typically os updates reverts it back again andyou will need to rerunit.
     
  4. koban4max thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #4
    yeah i'll keep it.
     
  5. Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #5
    I have it on my MacPro for two SSD's, can you run it on SSD externals?
     
  6. ricosuave macrumors 6502

    ricosuave

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my mac
    #6
    I have the Crucial M4-CT512M4SSD2 on my 4.1, should I use the enabler? I read somewhere it is not recommended on this drive. Anybody have tested this?
     
  7. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #7
    I'd like to see where they said that having no trim is a good idea on an M4. M4's had some issues with very early firmware but have been fine ever since.
     
  8. ricosuave macrumors 6502

    ricosuave

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my mac
    #8
    The discussions are back and forth. Here is a recent one: http://www.groths.org/forums/topic/te-pro-always-crashes/

    I just noticed I'm running 040H. Is it worth updating the firmware?
     
  9. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    I use Trim Enabler on a 256GB M4 drive, firmware 309, and it works perfectly.
     
  10. sunnyj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #10
    Trim will only work on ssds that are connected to the sata port on your logicboard
     
  11. Thomaspin, Dec 12, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013

    Thomaspin macrumors member

    Thomaspin

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #11
    That is incorrect. TRIM also works fine on SSD drives connected to a PCIe SSD card as my Samsung 250GB EVO connected to an Apricorn card and used as a start-up and Applications drive confirms. The SSD runs at SATAIII speed, BTW.

    Further, it also works fine on SSDs connected to the cables in the optical drive area. I have one SATAII SSD there and another SATAII SSD in one of the four regular backplane board sockets, the two striped in RAID0 to get SATAIII speeds from these older SATAII drives. TRIM works fine on this RAID0 pair.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #12
    If the firmware has been tested by others before me and it seems fine I always update.

    Never had a problem with the M4's in the many MBP's Ive fitted them in and a half dozen fitted to Mac Pro's. Kingston on the other hand is a different story. :mad:
     

Share This Page