I Finally Have The "ultimate"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by FelonyRuckus, Mar 17, 2008.

  1. FelonyRuckus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #1
    I just brought home my 17" MBP with High Resolution screen and 200 Gig HD.

    I will post more after I play a little...what do I do to get rid of all the languages and shtuff?

    And yes, they had it at the store.
     
  2. Ryox macrumors 6502a

    Ryox

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Well, thats optional but you'll have to reinstall the OS and set it up all over again.
    Congrats on your new Mac.
    Use the disks that came with your MBP
     
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    On versiontracker there is an awesome utility that will remove the extra languages. Also, you can easily get rid of anything in the Applications folder by just dragging it to the trash.

    TEG
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    This is not a windows box. The default install that comes with Macs works great without any reinstalls.

    Congrats! I have the previous gen 17", wondering if I should update to the current one... Well, maybe next gen...
     
  5. FelonyRuckus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #5
    Thanks guys...I'm just now using my free wireless keyboard and mighty mouse and I'm in clamshell mode to boot!!! hehehe so far i'm loving this thing.
     
  6. philgilder macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    use "monolingual" - google it
    you can use monolingual to remove excess languages, and code (like the program code for old powerpc apps). remove all lanugages you dont need, and any code, but leave intel and intel 64
    [​IMG]

    the advice to reinstall was to get rid of excess languages
     
  7. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #7
    My question is, why work in clamshell when you have that beautiful Hi-Def 17" screen to play with?!
     
  8. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #8
    Don't use Monolingual to get rid of code, just languages. Otherwise you could find Rosetta apps will suddenly stop working.
     
  9. PowerBookRelic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #9
    If you use monolingual to free up space and remove language, is it as clean (and also, free up as much space) as doing a fresh install?
     
  10. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #10
    is it that or is it getting rid of the code needed to run leopard on those older machines?

    leopard is universal unlike tiger where there were different versions for intel and powerPC thus why leopard is so much bigger than tiger, so would removing these codes really hurt anything?
     
  11. fredrickyoon macrumors regular

    fredrickyoon

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #11
    Congrats on your purchase and welcome to the MacRumors community!
     
  12. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #12
    Don't use monolingual to get rid of the intel architecture,if you want something
    to slim down apps codes etc try Xslimmer
     

Share This Page