I finally ordered a Powerbook! What should I do when it arrives?

dferigmu

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 3, 2004
Washington, DC
I have been contemplating which Mac to buy for the last two years and have been putting it off since I sold my iMac G3. After multiple “what to buy” threads, I have finally made a purchase and I’m so excited!!! :D This is what I ordered:

PowerBook 15"
1.5GHz w/ 64MB VRAM
512MB RAM
80GB hard drive
8x SuperDrive

It should be getting here late next week and I plan to buy an Apple keyboard, a Logitech mouse, speakers, and Techtool Pro 4 and then eventually APP, an iPod, photo printer, and a case.

I do know I have to drain the battery completely once and then recharge it, but my one question now is: Are there any tests/hardware tests I should run when it gets here just to make sure everything is alright?

JeDiBoYTJ

macrumors 6502a
Jun 22, 2004
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
just drop it down some stairs :p

j/k... umm... I would just use the computer... drain the battery like you said, but really just start using the computer and enjoy it... thats what I did when I got my PB 6 months ago, and it hasnt failed me yet...

if something doesnt feel right, if its not as responsive as you would of thought, then I would run some Hardware tests (with the supplied Apple Hardware Test CD) and such... but I think you will be alright :)

tech4all

macrumors 68040
Jun 13, 2004
NorCal
What should I do when it arrives?

You can:

1) Give it to me.

2) Maybe take it out of the box and set it up?

3) Kiss it.

4) Did I say you give it to me?

;) jk, enjoy your Mac.

varmit

macrumors 68000
Aug 5, 2003
Don't open the box. Readdress it to my house. I'll take care of it for you. :D

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
You can always start a thread on how to return it...

That seems to be a popular topic every now and then. :rolleyes:

Angelus

macrumors 6502
Apr 19, 2002
New Zealand