i forgot my admin pswd

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by juancmtzb, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. juancmtzb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #1
    Hi
    I forgot the admin pswd and I need to get a new one. I follow the instructions and it says that I can use another disk in a mac book pro , that I should restart the mac book air presing alt and then I can see the cd. After this I should go to utilities and reset the password, but I can't find the uitilities... Please help:confused:

    Thanks
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    It's in the Menubar at the top of the screen.
     
  3. juancmtzb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #3
    I have my top of the screen in spanish and all I have is:
    Install mac osx
    Edit
    Window
    Help
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Go back to the first screen, you should see it there.
     
  5. juancmtzb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #5
    I have :
    Finder
    file
    edit
    view
    go
    window
    help


    This seams so easy on the manual that it is driving me crazy

    Thanks again for helping me
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    The utilities will only appear if you boot from the Install Disc. Do this by holding C when the computer turns on.
     
  7. juancmtzb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #7
    I do not have the external cd. I am using the cd on a mac book through my airport and I restart the mac book air presing "C" and nothing happens
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  9. juancmtzb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #9
    that is the guide that I am using but can't find where the utility is.
     
  10. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    So, you held down option on boot and choose the Airport network?

    Once you do that, the Utilities menu should appear.
     
  11. dozybolox13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    Try this:

    Turn off your computer.
    When you turn it back on hold Apple and S
    When the command prompt appears type

    mount -uw / (hit enter)
    passwd (enter)


    now enter your new password

    Edit:

    type
    reboot

    your computer will reboot and let it boot normally.
     
  12. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #12
    Suspicious post...someone joins MacRumors and says they forgot their password. I think the OP is using a stolen computer.
     
  13. Derrick Velasco macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #13
    I hope this isn't the case. But I agree, It looks like that.
     
  14. mhnajjar macrumors 6502a

    mhnajjar

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #14
    Who in the world will forget the password of the computer he/she uses daily? Even if it was a secondary machine, this is a total BS! :mad:

    If the OP stole the machine, then he just made a stupid mistake by linking himself in these forums where he can be caught through his IP ;)
     
  15. spillproof macrumors 68020

    spillproof

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    *queue "dun dun dunn" sound effect*

    I have to agree, this is a bit suspicious. But, we don't really know.
     
  16. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #16
    OP, any comment? Prove the machine is yours and I'm sure someone will help you. As I said, I never felt good about this thread...
     
  17. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #17
    I am thinking the same thing.
     
  18. Poncho macrumors 6502

    Poncho

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Holland
    #18
    '...he just made a stupid mistake by linking himself in these forums where he can be caught through his IP...

    Not at all.
    He could have joined and be talking here through a proxy or, better, Tor.

    But there again, somehow I don't think so.....
     
  19. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY

Share This Page