I found a bug in bootcamp, where do I file a report?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by pmartin, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. pmartin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    #1
    I found a bug in Boot Camp. I am using a Core Duo MacBook Pro. To replicate it, boot into Windows, choose reboot into OS X, and choose shutdown from the OS X menu. This will corrupt the BIOS/EFI settings. The colors will become very strange and will stay that way until resetting them with the old PRAM reset key combo. Where can I file a more specific bug report to apple?
     
  2. Voidness macrumors 6502a

    Voidness

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Null
    #3
    That's strange. Are you sure these are the steps to reproduce the bug? It sounds far too simple for a somewhat serious issue. I just tried to reproduce it with my MacBook Pro Core Duo, and nothing happened.
     
  3. pmartin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    #4
    It might be unique to my system then, although I read about some others having similar problems. Please try the following before I file the report:

    Boot into OS X
    From control panel choose Startup Disk and choose Windows
    In windows, on the bottom right click on the Boot Camp icon and choose Startup Disk; choose OS X
    From back in OS X, choose Shut Down from the Apple menu

    This should corrupt the EFI settings.
     
  4. Voidness macrumors 6502a

    Voidness

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Null
    #5
    Seems to be working fine over here. I'm using a MacBook Pro 1.83GHz Core Duo, Mac OS X 10.4.10, Boot Camp 1.3 Beta, Windows XP Professional SP2 on a 15GB NTFS partition.
     
  5. pmartin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    #6
    I am running Boot Camp 1.4 beta, perhaps that is where the discrepancy is.
     
  6. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #7
    Go ahead and report it. If you can reproduce it, they should know about it.
     
  7. koops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Mine does not dothis, but what I have noticed with Bootcamp 1.4 is that I can't hold down option to choose the operating system I want to start! it always boots into the last OS I had open which means I have to do a lot of control panel and restart.

    Anybody else tried holding down option key on start? and it not working? iot just boots straight in?
     
  8. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #9
    Sounds like the issue I saw with Boot Camp (thread) after a bad crash. Windows won't boot up with the correct colours, but if you restart, it will. OSX, on the other hand, I hadn't been able to fix (without wiping both partitions and reinstalling both OSes etc..)

    I'll try reseting the PRAM, thanks. I'd report this. I already have sent feedback to the Boot Camp email address (and recevied a reply, so obviously someone is reading!), but it's a good idea to put this into bugreporter as well.
     

Share This Page