I found a PowerMac G4, and might want to buy it..

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by snaky69, Oct 8, 2011.

  1. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #1
    I was at university, paying a visit to my thermodynamics teacher when I noticed a PowerMac G4 500Mhz DP sitting collecting dust on top of a bookshelf. I am currently inquiring whether he is allowed to sell it, and whether it works or not.

    I'm considering buying it if the price is right, maxing out the internal hard drive capacity, stick Tiger or Leopard on it, and essentially use it as a media server.

    Am I being utterly foolish?
     
  2. Aldaris macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #2
    Nope, as long as the price is right you can do some serious media serving with it.
     
  3. snaky69 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #3
    I see OWC has the Dual 1.6Ghz upgrade for what I consider cheap for a vintage processor, would such an upgrade even be worthwhile?
     
  4. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    I considered it, and then realised that it was twice the price of a dual 1.8GHz G5 on eBay, so I went with the G5. If you've got he money though, the G4 upgrade should be more likely to be more reliable.
     
  5. Aldaris macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #5
  6. stev3n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
  7. MacSince1990 macrumors 65816

    MacSince1990

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    #7
    you might be able to find one on ebay for cheaper.
     
  8. ThunderSnake macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #8
    If this still has the original Rage 128, you'll want to upgrade that too if you plan to install Leopard and use it for anything other than a server. Anything that will give you hardware accelerated QE will make a HUGE difference. Leopard on a Rage 128 is really painful.
     
  9. aednichols macrumors member

    aednichols

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #9
    I have had great luck with my university's old Power Mac G4s, which range from the originals with 400 MHz CPUs to the MDD 2003 model. They're quite reliable, and still viable for regular use. If you can get a good price, go for it!
     
  10. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    True words, I've had Cover Flow fail to display or even crash because of it.
     
  11. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #11
    Seriously, do you expect for coverflow to run on a Rage128?
     
  12. seveej macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #12
    Dunno.
    Actually it's a thought I've played around with from time to time, considering that my "NAS" box (D-link DNS-323) Is hideously slow (avg. 14 MBps).

    Problem is, the DNS-323 has an average energy consumption of 22 watts (measured), and any desktop-box -based media server would be faaaar in excess of that.

    Even my current web server (iBook G3/500) gets by on 10 watts (average).

    So the question is, for something running 24/7, but with sporadic usage (a few hours a day maybe), how much do you value its thriftiness?

    Pekka
     
  13. Tyroler macrumors member

    Tyroler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #13
    Have the Bus in mind.
    On my 1.25 ghz is the Bus by 167mhz,but on the 1Ghz is the Bus just 133ghz.
    In that Case a 1.42 ghz CPU would just bring 1Ghz
    I got a upgrade Processor on Ebay with around 900mhz.I think its for a 400 or 450 mhz Unit.I will check it out later,as i have to go out now.
    Where are you about based? Just to find out how much were for postage
     
  14. Tyroler macrumors member

    Tyroler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #14
    Found it :)

    Its a CPU 900mhz with Heat Sink but without Fan,you may get for a few Pound
    You need a 100mhz bus to run the 900mhz
     
  15. snaky69 thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #15
    I'll attempt to contact the teacher who owns the computer tomorrow.
     

Share This Page