I found Java 1.7 for PowerPC 10.5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WalnutSpice, Aug 7, 2016.

  1. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #1
    I was scrolling through old Minecraft forums looking to see if anyone else had issues with older MC versions on PowerPC Macs. Through that, I found a post where someone linked some Java versions for PowerPC Macs. Listed there was Java 1.7 JDK beta 1 for Mac OS X Leopard PowerPC.
    I don't have my G5 up to test it, but here you go. It's .tar.bz2 though

    http://landonf.bikemonkey.org/stati..._darwin/openjdk7-macppc-2009-12-16-b4.tar.bz2
     
  2. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    I will try it, but I've failed at this too many times to get my hopes up yet.
     
  3. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #3
    Definitely let me know how it goes
     
  4. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    I have tried many MANY times to get it working, but it never does...
     
  5. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
  6. hellothere231 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    #6
    I've tried it too; and after lots of googling/frustration, I couldn't get it to work at all. That and I'm not that experienced in an operation like this.
     
  7. tevion5 macrumors 68000

    tevion5

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7
    Reporting back to say that unfortunately this is the particular package of Java 1.7 that I have spent many nights trying to get to work over the last year to no avail. I just keep hitting a brick wall somewhere towards the final stages of installation. There is quite a bit of command line tomfoolery to be had, but even though I am certain I am doing things correctly, I can't get it to run.

    The test system is my G5 Quad running Leopard.
     
  8. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #8
    Could you try running it on an intel Mac with Rosetta and then moving the finished (if successful) files to the G5?
     

Share This Page