I get NO SERVICE when 3G is enabled!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by magnagardner, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. magnagardner macrumors newbie

    Aug 7, 2007
    I get NO SERVICE whenever 3G is enabled on my phone, but when I turn it off I get full service. I'm talking about the phone service not data or internet. what the hell is going on?!?!
  2. soberbrain macrumors 65816


    May 9, 2008
    Is this a new iPhone? Is it possible that you are in an area with no 3G service?
  3. TEG macrumors 604


    Jan 21, 2002
    Langley, Washington
    You are in a place the either doesn't have 3G, or there is a weak 3G signal that the phone connects to but not enough to give you a bar.

  4. Pressure macrumors 68040


    May 30, 2006
  5. magnagardner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Aug 7, 2007
    I'm in New York City.

    My phone is not brand new, I've had it for about a month, maybe more, and it worked fine until the last couple days. All of a sudden I started getting NO SERVICE. I tried turning off 3g and it went right back to 5 bars when on EDGE. The problem is not that I don't get 3G internet it's that when 3G is enabled I get no phone service nor any 3G service. When I'm on EDGE I get both.

    very weird and frustrating.
  6. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Oct 14, 2005
    When your iPhone says 3G, it's using AT&T's new UMTS network for voice and their new HSPDA network for data.

    When your iPhone sayd EDGE, it's using their old GSM network for voice and their old EDGE network for data.

    ... so it makes sense that if you iPhone is on 3G and can't get data, the voice isn't likely going to work either. It's a totally separate voice network than when your iPhone is on EDGE.

    If your phone only has this problem in one area, it could be your local tower has issues.

    If your phone has this issue in multiple errors, then there's probably a problem with the phone itself or the AT&T SIM (less likely).

    At least you have 5 stores somewhat nearby. ;)
  7. eldoctore macrumors newbie

    Jul 3, 2007
  8. ratbatblue macrumors 6502

    Sep 12, 2007

    When this began happening to me in my home area after installing update 2.1, I finally called Apple, who transferred me to AT&T, who "re-provisioned" my iPhone on their computer system, and bang, zoom. 3G again, better than before 2.1 . If you do this, don't call them using the iPhone that has the problem. HTH
  9. yagrax macrumors regular

    Jul 30, 2007
    At lunch today, I decided that my iPhone orig on EDGE was too slow to load up webpages, so I got my wifie's new 3G (about a month old now?) and turned the 3G on. No service.

    My iPhone orig had 5 bars and on EDGE, hers with 3G turned on No Service.

    This was in the heart of the Tech Center of Denver where I know there's 3G service.

    Weird-er then, when I turned 3G off on her iPhone, it got to 3 bars and EDGE, but my orig stayed at 5 bars.

    This leads me to believe that there's something seriously wrong with the 3G iPhone, especially when you have a side-by-side comparison like this...

    And by the way, we had called AT&T/Apple last month to 're-home' her tower which sounds like what user 'ratbatblue' did. It's not helped her iPhone. And we keep her 3G turned off. So basically it's a iPhone orig with GPS...how sad...
  10. BiikeMike macrumors 65816


    Sep 17, 2005
    I just got a pair of iPhones for the wife and I. IN THE APPLE STORE we didn't get service when they were just initiated. All the iPhones on display in the store had full service. Guess what? all the display phones were set to 3G off. our two new ones were set to 3G on. I've now had my 3G iPhone for a few days, and had it set to EDGE. What is the deal? When there is no 3G service, shouldn't it default to EDGE? That is what my Blackberry on VZW did. If there was no EV-DO, it defaulted to regular service, seamlessly.

    Why doesn't the iPhone, when set to 3G on, default to EDGE if there is no 3G? And is there a way to change this, jailbroken or not?
  11. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Oct 14, 2005
    Mine switches between 3G and EDGE at work all of the time...
  12. BiikeMike macrumors 65816


    Sep 17, 2005
    That is interesting. Mine, nor my wife's does not. If there is 3G, it will pick it up. If there is not, it says "no service" even if there is EDGE available. Has anyone else had this problem?
  13. Dr. Cabrera macrumors 65816

    Aug 25, 2008
    Los Angeles
    I have had this happen to me about 3 times

    it will be on edge, and when i manually switch 3g on, it will say no network

    the simplest fix is to restart your iPhone

    In my case it fixed it the 3 times I had the problem

    Glad to help
  14. jayimsu macrumors newbie

    Sep 24, 2008

    Ever since upgrading to 2.1 mine hasn't been switching to edge when 3g is enabled. I get the no service notice also. On the other hand my sisters phone has 2 bars of 3g at home while i get 1 bar or no service until I turn off 3g. I used to get 2 bars pre 2.1
  15. bluenoise macrumors 6502a

    Jul 16, 2008
    Same here, though it shouldn't require these steps. Still, mine has been switching just fine since restarting it and I haven't needed to do this since.
  16. njchris macrumors regular


    Sep 14, 2007
    Mine has been doing this lately too. It did not do it after I got 2.1, until now.

    It's very annoying to have to shut down and start up the phone again.
  17. stevesega macrumors newbie

    Oct 7, 2008
    I'm having the same problem with the 3G but I do get signal when I turn it on, but after a while I get the NO SERVICE, and to get it working again I have to restart the iphone. Eventually it happens all again. What should I do? I already change the SIM for a new one, restore it, make the reset from the iphone "erase all content and setting".
  18. aristobrat macrumors G5

    Oct 14, 2005
    Just wanted to follow-up that while visiting in DC last week, it wouldn't switch automatically. I'd get NO SIGNAL often when it'd lose 3G coverage (instead of just switching to EDGE). Rebooting fixed it.

    Back at home/work, it's switching perfectly again. :confused:
  19. osijekhobi macrumors newbie

    Mar 4, 2013

    Hello,first off all sorry for bad eng. but ill try to help you
    So i saw a lot users od iphone have problem with iphone 3g/gs. No service on 3g network or when its off,i have that phone also and i have solution that worked 100%
    problem is on signas switcher that is located
    on this picture you can see them: lower part of iphone.

    So here it is,take a hair dryer,a turn it on,heat this chips for about 10 sec,then whit your fingers push chips on logicboard,get iphone back on,go to settings-reset then reset network settings,and its workig :)
    if its now working try to heat and push chips again
    please share this solution becouse i cant see any other solution for this problem
    and please correct my words if there is something wrong

Share This Page