I get this message when trying to upgrade to Windows 10...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by MartinAppleGuy, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. MartinAppleGuy macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #1
    image.jpg How can I get Windows 10 to start the download on my iMac?
     
  2. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Patience. Microsoft are drip feeding it out *starting* today.
     
  3. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    Open Command prompt and type - wuauclt.exe /updatenow and it will begin
     
  4. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #4
    image.jpg
    It hasn't seemed to have done anything? Here is a pic:
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    The command triggers a Windows update check and has been around since Windows 2000. It won't necessarily trigger the GWX download on a machine that just clicked reserve.
     
  6. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    #6
    Actually got it now, big thanks!! Going really slow as my internet should be getting around 5000KBps but oh well haha
     

    Attached Files:

  7. MartinAppleGuy thread starter macrumors 68020

    MartinAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
  8. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Odd, did every time for me. So far Windows 10 is working smooth for me.
     
  9. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    Worked on one out of three for me. Co-incidence? Dunno.

    Oddly Windows 10 is giving me grief on a Surface Pro. Won't sleep, keeps waking up and running out of battery.
     
  10. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    Ah that sucks. Haven't put it on my Surface yet, but my buddy is having the same experience on his Surface Pro 3. Maybe Mac performs better.
     
  11. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    You'd think that Microsoft would have bulletproof drivers for their own hardware. ;)
     

Share This Page