I give up on Bootcamp

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Alexjones, Nov 2, 2013.

  1. Alexjones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #1
    I received my Mac book pro on Thursday afternoon and have no issues except for Bootcamp. I have tried to install Windows 7 via full version windows dvd. After i partition my SSD and windows installs setup file, The Boot camp partition says that Windows cannot be installed on this partition, even after i format it. Any advice?
     
  2. Sym0 macrumors 6502

    Sym0

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #2
    I had this problem installing off a USB. There is a bug in the install bit from memory if you swap ports it should work. Google the issue and you'll find your answer.
     
  3. TigerMe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #3
    Parallels

    Given the advancements in VM technology - particularly Parallels, I can't think of a reason to run bootcamp. A VM does everything these days and saves you the boot trouble.

    Just my opinion.
     
  4. zOlid macrumors regular

    zOlid

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #4
    It cant do anything.......
    Except: Run windows with out having to have OSX loaded and running, taking up performance.
    And many install windows to be able to play games and such, and doing that over parallels defeats the whole idea.

    There are many other reasons to. But this is probably the two main ones.
     
  5. Scott7975 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #5
    I had to download an ISO. I don't have a optical drive. The first 2 I downloaded, bootcamp kept telling me it wasn't 64 bit and wouldn't load it. They were indeed 64 bit. I read somewhere it may have been a 32/64 bit combo download, so bootcamp got confused. I tried 1 last time to download another one and it worked flawless. The one that worked flawless was from the same link as one that didn't, so I don't know why one worked and one didn't. Maybe the first time it got corrupted is my only guess.

    Anyhow... I had no trouble at all once I got past the 64 bit problem.

    As for the guy that says just use parallels... I initially tried that first and it just didn't look very good. It was blurry and sometimes slow. Bootcamp looks great and works fast. It eats battery but it works just like I was on a windows machine.
     
  6. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #6
    Buy VMware Fusion.
     
  7. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    Have a look at the forums.
    There are sometimes ways around it but for the moment Boot Camp seems to be broken for Haswell Macs.
     
  8. byuister macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #9
    I recommend bootcamp for native speeds. I have a new macbook pro retina 15", and I'm running windows 8.1 with no issues.
     
  10. sabbyp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    #10
    well I can think of one huge advantage for bootcamp - it runs games at native speed.

    vmware doesn't.....:rolleyes:

    I just hit the format button (looks like an eraser) when the win 7 installer says it cannot install to that partition. Worked fine and continued with the installation.
     
  11. swerve147 macrumors 6502a

    swerve147

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #11
    I give up on Bootcamp

    That tripped me up the first time as well. If the format doesn't work though you may be SOL.
     
  12. Candlelight macrumors 6502a

    Candlelight

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    I've been using Vmware Fusion for years but I may bootcamp my machine soon as I'll be needing the native speeds for a couple of new programs I'll start to use. Otherwise VMware is great.

    That said, it all comes down to what you need Windows on your mac for.
     
  13. AppleWindowsFan, Nov 13, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013

    AppleWindowsFan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Location:
    Ohio USA
    #13
    I use Virtual Box. I don't play a lot of games, but I do code for a living, so I run Visual Studio and SQL Server Management Studio.

    A virtual machine seems to run Windows 8.1 with no problems.
     
  14. TheSlimOne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #14
    When I bootcamped my SSD. I could not get win7 to install onto the SSD when it was installed in the optibay. It had to go in the HDD bay. I tried everything I could think. I even bootcamped it in the HHD and moved it to the optibay. It wouldn't boot when I did it that way. So my current setup which is a little annoying is this

    250g SSD partitioned at 80g for win7 and the rest for osx

    then the 500g is part in half for osx and half for win

    osx uses the HDD for itunes and pictures mainly
    windows uses the HDD for games (COD MW3, GHOSTS, BLACKOPS, ASSASSINS Creed etc etc)
    So the SSD only has to concern itself with the operating systems for the most part.

    I spent most of an entire day trying to get it setup and this is what I ended up with
     
  15. Millionaire2K macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    #15
    I had no issues.

    I DL the legal copy from Microsoft (X17-24395) 100% legal BUT MUST BE ACTIVATED within 3 days. I Just used the code for the retail copy I bought.

    I went to BC manager.

    I created a USB install.

    It formatted my16GB USB stick and dl windows files needed.

    I Split the 1TB 50/50

    It restarted my MB.

    Got to the select HDD screen to install and formatted the section labeled boot camp.

    Installed no problem.
     
  16. neteng101 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #16
    You need to use Windows 7 SP1 image to create the bootable USB, then you're good to go.

    http://www.w7forums.com/threads/official-windows-7-sp1-iso-image-downloads.12325/

    You can use your Windows 7 retail license key to activate, just grab the appropriate version for the license you have.

    Also don't try UEFI install methods, just follow the Boot Camp assistant, format the partition when you need to, and it should install perfectly.
     

Share This Page