I got A-10 CUBA! working on my MBP!

Darklord

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 9, 2005
26
0
Available here http://mac.the-underdogs.info/index.php?show=category&cat=Flight+Simulation

Not easy and unfortunately requires the use of an emulator. After many hours of playing around with SheepShaver I eventually realized that Basalisk II JIT

http://gwenole.beauchesne.info//en/projects/basilisk2

was the only one that could get up to speed to so the game could be enjoyable. And only that after dumping a whole bunch of memory into it. But It works!

Thing is the way Basalisk II works you need not only and old copy of Mac OS .0- 8.1 but you also need a Mac OS ROM file from an old 680x0 computer. Luckally I had one, ( with a dead CD-rom drive and in dire need of an OS reinstall but it still starts up)

Unfortunately I couldn't get A-10 Attack 1.5 to work. It crashes Basilisk as soon as you launch a mission. Perhaps it needs a PPC to run idk. unless someone has another idea. You can try Sheep Shaver I did with Mac OS 9.0.4 but I could never get it up to speed. and was unplayable unless you turned off the sound where the stuttering was most noticeable and annoying.
 

Darklord

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 9, 2005
26
0
Corrections I got A-10 attack running by making sure Sound 3.0 was on in the prefrences.

But most disappointingly It is still a slide show once you start moving! Gah!! oh well. wait till something better comes along. I thought I had it yesterday. Guess I was wrong.
 

Darklord

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 9, 2005
26
0
HAHA!!!! I did get it working, though not with BasiliskII. Even better! I found a much newer verion of SheepShaver on these forums http://www.emaculation.com/forum/index.php the one on their stickied thread seems to work fine, but, reading trough the thread, there are reports of some sort of mouse problem with it crashing if you drag your mouse out of the window around 30 times. However on the same thread there is another version.
http://www.nomicro.com/SheepShaver.html that fixes this. I used Mac os 9.0.4 and a Mac OS Rom that I obtained from a mac OS update and tomb viewer. For some reason I coudn't find it on my Beige G3 (Yes I have collected alot of computers over the years) ;)
 

Black&Tan

macrumors 6502a
Mar 4, 2004
736
0
Congrats!

I spent many, many hours flying both A-10 Attack and Cuba. Undoubtedly my favorite game back in the day. I still keep a dual G4 around (OS9 boot capable) on the off-chance I want to play again. I was so upset when Activision bought the game because development pretty much stopped. Parsoft went on to create Screaming Demons for Windows and which was supposed to come to the Mac, and Activision interceded again. A Mac flight simmer is a lonely soul.

Nowadays, I'm trying to work through IL-2 on a MacPro.
 

InfoSecmgr

Guest
Dec 31, 2009
324
0
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Congrats!

I spent many, many hours flying both A-10 Attack and Cuba. Undoubtedly my favorite game back in the day. I still keep a dual G4 around (OS9 boot capable) on the off-chance I want to play again. I was so upset when Activision bought the game because development pretty much stopped. Parsoft went on to create Screaming Demons for Windows and which was supposed to come to the Mac, and Activision interceded again. A Mac flight simmer is a lonely soul.

Nowadays, I'm trying to work through IL-2 on a MacPro.
I know it has been many years since this thread was discussed. However...I got a hold of Parsoft back in the day and they promised the release of "VBE" modules for the games. For those of you who don't know what that it, it is the virtual battlefield environment module. All those round icons you see in the A-10 folder are VBE's. Originally they said you'd be able to command ships, tanks, and other aircraft but after Activision bought them that went to total crap. Anyway, I've found the best way to play these games is using a G4 booting into OS 9...though B&W G3's run it just fine.

I CANNOT believe that nobody has ported this to OS X, or at least continued making VBE's for it through the open source community...though I'm not sure if the code for the game was ever released. This game has SO much more potential.
 

trose

macrumors regular
Dec 28, 2002
198
0
Pretty cool!

I remember way back in the day, playing on my 604e. I had no idea what I was doing, but I spent hours in the demo.

I eventually got the full game. Well worth it!
 

Maury

macrumors 6502
Mar 25, 2008
444
5
I got a hold of Parsoft back in the day and they promised the release of "VBE" modules for the games. Originally they said you'd be able to command ships, tanks, and other aircraft but after Activision bought them that went to total crap.
Long before that actually. They had already decided by the Cuba point to abandon VBE and move on to OpenPlane. OP is basically VBE in concept, but uses text files for all modification, instead of plug-in libraries. The upside is that it was much easier to edit them and many 3rd party planes appeared. The downside is that many of the models in the code had serious problems that could not be addressed in the plug-ins.

Maury
 

sushi

Moderator emeritus
Jul 19, 2002
15,651
3
キャンプスワ&#
I kept a PM933 with 22 inch Cinema display running Mac OS 9 for A-10 Attack and Cuba. Have stick, throttle and pedals. Works great.

...just wish I had time to play. :(
 

dmr727

macrumors G3
Dec 29, 2007
8,634
46
NYC
I kept a PM933 with 22 inch Cinema display running Mac OS 9 for A-10 Attack and Cuba. Have stick, throttle and pedals. Works great.
You're killing me! I'm going to have to get my old G4 out and give A-10 another go. Best simulator ever. :)
 

BuddyTronic

macrumors 65816
Jul 11, 2008
1,202
836
Pretty cool!

I remember way back in the day, playing on my 604e. I had no idea what I was doing, but I spent hours in the demo.

I eventually got the full game. Well worth it!

Yah man, Hellcats Leyte Gulf was the one I liked playing most, but I'm sure the A-10 was good because it used the same engine.

The thing that these sims have that all the modern ones seem to miss was that it was a challenge to fly and get the target in line for a shot. All the Jet simulator stuff from other makers had no flying skills involved - it was all missiles and the planes flew too much like the real jets (F-18 for example - way too easy to fly to be fun).

I wish someone would go back and see the magic of Hellcats Leyte Gulf, and A-10 Cuba, and replicate it on modern hardware.
 

dmr727

macrumors G3
Dec 29, 2007
8,634
46
NYC
Yah man, Hellcats Leyte Gulf was the one I liked playing most, but I'm sure the A-10 was good because it used the same engine.
If you liked Hellcats, you'd love A-10. The physics model was improved, and you could drive up to three monitors at 1024x768. It was pretty amazing.
 

InfoSecmgr

Guest
Dec 31, 2009
324
0
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Long before that actually. They had already decided by the Cuba point to abandon VBE and move on to OpenPlane. OP is basically VBE in concept, but uses text files for all modification, instead of plug-in libraries. The upside is that it was much easier to edit them and many 3rd party planes appeared. The downside is that many of the models in the code had serious problems that could not be addressed in the plug-ins.

Maury
I've never seen any 3rd party planes. I'm not doubting you, but that is interesting! Do you know much about them?
 

sushi

Moderator emeritus
Jul 19, 2002
15,651
3
キャンプスワ&#
You're killing me! I'm going to have to get my old G4 out and give A-10 another go. Best simulator ever. :)
:D

Try landing upside down without dying and without cheats! It can be done!
With A-10 Attack, I like flying though the hanger right side up and upside down. :)

If you liked Hellcats, you'd love A-10. The physics model was improved, and you could drive up to three monitors at 1024x768. It was pretty amazing.
Agree. Much improved since Hellcats.

I always planned on getting a left and right monitor but never did. May need to do that someday. :)
 

detriment

macrumors newbie
Mar 24, 2011
1
0
Anyone got this working yet?

Anyone have A-10 Cuba! working on MacOS X yet? I would absolutely adore being able to play this again. From the looks of the above thread, it may be worth it to go out and pick up an old PowerMac, but I would hate to have to just to play this one game.
 

Biggles320

macrumors newbie
Dec 19, 2011
2
0
Type 12 Error

I have A-10 Attack and Cuba working on my PPC Mac Pro running 9.2.2 but It won't take a Cyborg joystick but it will take a Macally game controller or I can fly with a mouse.

However when ever I want to fly a mission, that is other than a "quickstart", it give me a Type 12 error and the game quits. Any ideas?

B.
 

Similar threads

Replies
0
Views
341
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.