I got my 4GB of RAM today!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JellyFish, Jun 16, 2007.

  1. JellyFish macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #1
    Popped it into my new 15 inch MacBook Pro and it rocks!!!! Woohoo!!!! If you have a couple of hundred bucks get the patriot ram in that deal somebody posted. The extra ram is sweet!

    I will be using parallels to run linux and vista here and there for work so the extra ram is great. Plus it helps with everything else too. You can't have too much RAM. :)
     
  2. NYRngrs24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #2
    battery

    did you notice a hit on battery life?
     
  3. Jeremy Gray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Location:
    Maine
    #3
    I got my 4gb of ram today too!
    But my 17" MBP won't be here until tomorrow.
    I'm getting pumped!
     
  4. mBurns macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    USA
  5. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    I got my 4GB in the mail yesterday...to bad I don't know when my MBP is coming.
     
  6. MacDonaldsd macrumors 65816

    MacDonaldsd

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Location:
    London , UK
    #6
    What id give for a MacBook Pro (sitting out the 6 week delay on the 7200 rpm Hard drive)


    JellyFish do you notice a lot, the performance difference with the extra RAM ? as 2gb is a lot as it is.
     
  7. Habusho macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #7
    Come on don't just tease us. Does it perform any better? Any difference in battery useage? I'm thinking of getting 4gigs myself.
     
  8. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #8
    Yeap, battery life is now 1 hour shorter.
     
  9. island macrumors 6502

    island

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #9
    R O F L
     
  10. NYRngrs24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #10
    ha

    Thanks iWoot. hahah. seriously though, does ram take up much power? i would assume it would take a few minutes off, but have you guys noticed anything?
     
  11. gmisz88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #11
    Is the 4gb ram necessary, and if so why? and is it easy to install and where do you purchase it cheap?
     
  12. NYRngrs24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #12
    its really depends on what you do. if you do video editing and lots of graphics the 4gigs will help. but if your just doing the internet and some word processing, there isnt much of a point to have 4gigs.
     
  13. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #13
    Of course it doesn't take that much off, but it just bring the point of such a question up.

    How do you measure a few minutes difference in battery life anyway? It can be due to various factors, like the LCD being lit brighter due to different ambient light, or the wifi antennas sending out more retransmit packets due to a weak signal strength.... we never know.
     
  14. NYRngrs24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #14
    good point. I just didnt know how much power ram takes. who knows it could of taken 30min off. lol. 4 gigs is a lot of ram.....and it will be nice to have. now this question is for iWoot. how much weight does it add? a pound or two? haha :p
     
  15. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #15
    I just weighted it and found it to be 2kg heavier.

    But strangely when I shut it down instead of putting it on sleep it gets a lot lighter. Guess 2 billion bits do weigh quite a lot.
     
  16. NYRngrs24 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #16
    hahahaha, those bytes do way a lot. thats why it was a concern for me. ha
     

Share This Page