I hate Eclipse. It ruined my life.

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by shawnwich, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. shawnwich macrumors 6502

    shawnwich

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    I have a program due soon, and i have eclipse installed on my new mac, and i'm trying to compile and it wont work. For awhile it kept saying "Launch failed no binaries" but now its saying "java.langnullpointerexception"

    ITS NOT EVEN A JAVA PROGRAM. I'm using C++. I even tried a simple helloworld and it did the same error thing. GAH.

    I NEED HELP PLEASE. Visual Studio used to "just work" on windows, but i dont know why this thing doesent JUST WORK.
     
  2. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #2
    make a new workspace and project and drag over your source files (i.e. don't bring over any of the dot files, let eclipse re-create those). see if that unconfuses eclipse.
     
  3. shawnwich thread starter macrumors 6502

    shawnwich

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    Nope. Now its back to

    "Launch failed no binaries"

    I'm so annoyed. Is there any other compiler I can try out that ill just work?
     
  4. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #4
    Eclipse is built on Java, I'd suggest making sure your environment meets the basic requirements.

    http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/moreinfo/c.php

    Per the link: "You will need a Java Runtime Environment (JRE) to run Eclipse IDE for C/C++ Developers. A Java 5 JRE is recommended."

    Have you tried Xcode?
     
  5. Spike099 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Use Apple's Xcode. Might be installed already under /Developer/Applications/Xcode/

    Choose C++ Tool when you create a new project.

    If it's not installed already, you must register an ADC Membership at http://developer.apple.com/ to download it.
     
  6. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #6
    that was with your hello world program? or the one you're working on?
     
  7. shawnwich thread starter macrumors 6502

    shawnwich

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    BOTH. It does that for every program i try to run.
     
  8. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #8
    i think Padraic's on the right track. i'd reinstall java and eclipse.
     
  9. shawnwich thread starter macrumors 6502

    shawnwich

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    Okay guys. i decided to ditch Eclipse, and install Xcode.

    Works like a charm = ).

    Thanks for all your help, guys!!
     
  10. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #10
    You already have a solution, and I'm still trying to figure out how Mitsubishi ruined your life...
     
  11. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #11
    @ callidus, glad to be of help...

    @ spork183, took me a minute, but I figured out what your talking about! lol... :D
     
  12. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #12
    If you didn't have Xcode installed when you were using Eclipse what C/C++ compiler were you using with it?
     
  13. joehack macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Zurich
    #13
    It seems like an installation issue. As an alternative, you could use Netbeans: http://www.netbeans.info/downloads/index.php?rs=22&p=7

    Jochen

    PS: My experience with with Visual Studio is the oposite. It contains a lot of bugs. The concept is from the early 18th century - not even close to XCode.
     
  14. Blacky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    AFAIK the CDT, the C development tool plugin for eclipse, doesn't come with a compile like it does for java, altough off course it needs JRE to run, eclipse can compile it's own java using it's incremental compiler from the JDT plugin (basically before you run your program is already compiled to bytecode)

    What you probably needed to do was install gcc standalone, or xcode which should also install the whole gnu development tool chain.

    The binary he couldn't find was probably gcc, now that you have xcode installed you should try running the c program again in eclipse.

    I haven't used xcode extensively, tried it for some java, but it was merely a fraction of what I have come to expect from eclipse, but I have to be fair, I didn't play with it all that long, I've read much about the cdt and it's getting more and more adoption, it has nice features and you should really give it a go again, I know that people on the firefox/mozilla tree use the cdt also sony uses it for it's development on the ps3 etc so hey it has to offer something right? :)
     
  15. aquanutz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Location:
    Boston, MA (I miss Willoughby, Ohio)
    #15
    I just wanted to say that your title for this thread is the best I've read in a while.
     
  16. garethlewis2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #16
    Can you please do what aquanutz asked.

    Eclipse does not come with any C or C++ binaries so it should now work that you installed XCode which installs all said binaries.

    Question? Why did you choose to install Eclipse when you have XCode?
     
  17. gechici macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    #17
    I hear you man. That's why I've created http://ihateeclipse.com
     
  18. tofagerl macrumors 6502a

    tofagerl

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #18
    Still better than Javabeans. That #$#$!%$ slept with my mom and never called her again!
     

Share This Page