I have a simple quesion about the dock

Mr. E

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2005
19
0
Hawaii
Hi,
I've been looking around and I tried asking "Help" on my Mac (I think I don't know how it wants the question asked...hehe!).

Anyways...can somebody please just tell me how you make a url in the dock (the icon looks like a button w/ an "@" symbol on top--on a spring)?

I tried dragging a url from the address box on my browser and a few other things, but nothing worked.

Thanx. ;)
 

slooksterPSV

macrumors 68040
Apr 17, 2004
3,303
137
Nowheresville
Mr. E said:
Hi,
I've been looking around and I tried asking "Help" on my Mac (I think I don't know how it wants the question asked...hehe!).

Anyways...can somebody please just tell me how you make a url in the dock (the icon looks like a button w/ an "@" symbol on top--on a spring)?

I tried dragging a url from the address box on my browser and a few other things, but nothing worked.

Thanx. ;)
Drag and drop the link to the desktop from the URL bar. Find the icon, CMD+I to get into on the icon file, select the icon (a blue border will be around it in the information window at the very top when you click on it), hit CMD+C to copy the icon, get info (CMD+I) on the .webloc file and click on the icon so you see the blue border, and CMD+V to paste it.
 

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
6,639
2
mad jew said:
Drag the URL to the right side of the Dock. It won't work on the left side (with all the apps). :)
Yes. Here is an example. Click to play movie.



Brought to you by Lacero's Animated Demos™
 

Flying Llama

macrumors 6502a
Aug 4, 2004
737
0
Los Angeles
Lacero said:
Yes. Here is an example. Click to play movie.



Brought to you by Lacero's Animated Demos™
I don't see anything...

EDIT: would it be this? :D

EDIT2: Strange, it doesn't work in Firefox, Opera, Camino or Internet Explorer, but it does in Safari... sorry. BTW, nice job.
 

Mr. E

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2005
19
0
Hawaii
Still doesn't work

Hmmm...that's funny.

I looked at that movie, and that's exactly what I tried on my own before.

The thing is...it doesn't work that way for me. When I drag the url into the dock...it does stick, and it works too. But...it looks like a dog-earrred piece of paper instead of the little spring button (and I have the "Apple" spring button on there that came installed on my comp...so I obviously CAN make them like the spring).

BTW, I got a brand new iMac G5 w/ "Tiger" (and I believe a totally new type of processor).

I tried following all those written instructions above...but I honetly don't understand it very well. I did get part way ok. :D
 

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
6,639
2
Are you trying to get the look of the spring-icon in the dock to carry over onto your desktop?
 

Mr. E

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2005
19
0
Hawaii
No. I tried it w/ Safari as well as Firefox. The same thing happens.
Oh...I already had removed the paper-icon from the dock. i left it on the desktop so u could see how it looks


And no. Lacero...I'm trying to make a spring icon in the dock. I tried dragging the url straight to the dock, and I also tried dragging it onto the sektop...and then onto the dock. Either way, it still looks like a piece of paper.
 

SummerBreeze

macrumors 6502a
Sep 11, 2005
593
0
Chicago, IL
When I pull a URL from Safari, it works and looks like a spring, however nothing works at all from Firefox. This might be because Safari is Apple while Firefox is not, I don't know. My advice would be to just use Safari to set up your dock, then use Firefox for normal surfing.
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,191
5
Adelaide, Australia
Try repairing your permissions from Disk utility and if that does nothing (most likely true) then trash the Dock's preferences (com.apple.dock.plist). :)
 

Mr. E

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2005
19
0
Hawaii
Thanx summerbreeze, but I guess u misunderstood...the same thing happens with BOTH browsers.

but I'll try run a disc repair mad jew (like you, I don't have high hopes for it). I'm not sure what you mean by trashing my dock preferences (a joke perhaps?), but I sure will try treaking around with them.

But thanx for trying everybody.:cool:
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,191
5
Adelaide, Australia
Mr. E said:
I'm not sure what you mean by trashing my dock preferences (a joke perhaps?), but I sure will try treaking around with them.

No joke. Just do a search for com.apple.dock.plist and remove it from the folder it's already in (User/Library/Preferences) and restart. It should be replaced with the default settings. It's a pretty common way of fixing strange software idiosyncrasies like this in OSX. :)
 

Macky-Mac

macrumors 68030
May 18, 2004
2,653
1,323
i get the paper look if I put it on the desktop or if I put it on the desktop and then move it to the dock, but if I drag it straight to the dock in one movement it looks like the spring.....so try getting it to the dock in one movement without stopping on the desktop
 

iPhil

macrumors 68040
mad jew said:
No joke. Just do a search for com.apple.dock.plist and remove it from the folder it's already in (User/Library/Preferences) and restart. It should be replaced with the default settings. It's a pretty common way of fixing strange software idiosyncrasies like this in OSX. :)
Not to Hi-Jack the thread..

mad jew,

Would Trashing any other app .plist work in that app to fix or resolve an issue? Or trashing the .plist of an app should be the first option to fix software idiosyncrasies ? :confused:


iphil
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,191
5
Adelaide, Australia
iphil said:
Would Trashing any other app .plist work in that app to fix or resolve an issue? Or trashing the .plist of an app should be the first option to fix software idiosyncrasies ?

Spot on. Well, sort of. Generally repairing permissions is the first job (Disk Utility) although it's usually not terribly fruitful. Trashing preferences is a pretty safe second step though.

The great thing about OSX is that trashing the preferences is kinda like reinstalling the entire app but obviously much quicker. Just remove the relevant PLIST (preference) file from the folder it's within (you don't even have to delete it) and next time you open the app it'll create a new default one for you. Only do this if the app isn't running though.

Another cool thing is that if you keep the file and removing preferences did nothing, then you can close the app and drag the original preference file back into the relevant folder, replacing the newer one, to keep all your old settings. :)
 

Mr. E

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2005
19
0
Hawaii
mad jew said:
No joke. Just do a search for com.apple.dock.plist and remove it from the folder it's already in (User/Library/Preferences) and restart. It should be replaced with the default settings. It's a pretty common way of fixing strange software idiosyncrasies like this in OSX. :)
I realize you were trying to help, and I appreciate that.

But not only did it not work, but I had to completely rebuild my dock from scratch...AND
...I have now seem to have lost my iMovie program. In my dock, I noticed a couple of question marks. When I put my cursor over them, it indicated Quicktime & iMovie. I have searched my entire disc. I found Quicktime, but iMovie is nowhere to be found.

I was worried about dumping an important thing like that.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.