I have an 8GB iPod touch 4Gen, but in settings, it says it's capacity is about 6GB?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by LOLZpersonok, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. LOLZpersonok macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #1
    I think it's deducting it on how much storage iOS takes but I'm still not entirely sure. What is this all about?
     
  2. 53kyle macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    After formatting, there's about 7.6GB. Then iOS partitions it into two partitions. One for the OS and the other for the media and other things.
     
  4. LOLZpersonok thread starter macrumors 6502a

    LOLZpersonok

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #4
    Oh okay. I thought similar but I never thought of Partitioning lol. It's the same if I partition a hard drive in Mac OS X or Windows where it thinks that the drive is that big with the partition. (Unless you check out System Profiling on either OS)
     
  5. Virinprew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #5
    It used to be much smaller. I remember back during iPhone2.0. It weighs at 200-300 MB. Now iOS 6 for iPad3 is 1000MB, for iPod touch is 800MB.
    Make sense, there are more features.
     
  6. Major.Robto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #6
    well also rember that 8gb is not 8000mb

    nothing ever is the size it says it is because of how the rounding goes.

    Plus the touch does have a small partition for the OS
     
  7. baypharm macrumors 65816

    baypharm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #7
    Bear in mind that IOS 6 will take over 2GB of space......
     
  8. Virinprew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #8
    Sad. You didn't read my post two comment above. I say 800 MB for iOS 6 of iPod touch. I download it. I know it. Stop say ... if you don't know it.
     
  9. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    Your thinking of Mac OSX - iOS would be under 1GB for sure ;)
     
  10. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #10
    Nope you need 2.4gb to install iOS 6 OTA :)
     
  11. Rocks. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    #11
    No you don't. It only requires 2.4 GB of space if you download and install on your iPod itself. If you download via iTunes and install with via USB, it doesn't take up that much at all. I think it has something to do with downloading the iOS onto the device, then removing the old portion, so you need extra space? But once it's all finished, the iOS does not take 2.4 GB (i updated my iPod touch)
     
  12. stiligFox macrumors 6502a

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #12
    It takes that much because it has to download the install file, extract it, install the packages, and then remove the install file.

    (My best guess.)
     
  13. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #13
    Yeah but we're thinking more people would just update OTA. I never use the cable anymore :p
     

Share This Page