I have an old Mac from late 2011, and need help running logic pro X

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by tyuri1212, May 30, 2017.

  1. tyuri1212 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    #1
    The overview of my Mac is attached as an image file.
    Every time I try to run Logic Pro X I purchased, it just keeps shutting down.
    I updated my Mac and stuff, but it doesn't just work..
    Should I buy a new Mac? or iMac?
    Do you guys see any possibility to make it work on my Mac based on the information?
    I am not a big computer person, so I really need help.
    Thank you so much.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Update Sierra to 10.12.5 through the App Store. Then try again.
     
  3. tyuri1212 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2017
    #3
    Thanks for the reply, keysofanxiety, and I just updated to 10.12.5, but still does the same :(
     
  4. treekram macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Location:
    Honolulu HI
    #4
    What kind of disk do you have (HDD or SSD), how big is it and how much of it (percentage) is being used?

    Three things you can try: 1) See if it can run in safe mode.
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201262

    2) Open the Activity Monitor app before running Logic Pro X. Start the app and see what happens to the memory - what does the "Memory Used" figure go up to before it crashes?

    3) Open the Console app. Start the app and see what messages, if any, appear. The Console can display messages which may seem to indicate a problem when there isn't any so just concentrate on the messages that appear after you try to start the app. You can copy messages by clicking on one line, holding down the shift key and then clicking on another line and going through the normal copy/paste actions.
     
  5. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #7
    Sorry for my late reply, I only get notifications when somebody quotes my post.

    Logic opens then immediately crashes? Do you have any plugins installed? Did it ever work? You can try a full uninstall by dragging LPX into AppCleaner, delete all files, then restart & download again: https://freemacsoft.net/downloads/AppCleaner_3.4.zip
     
  7. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #8
    try a test user account, ie create an 'admin' account (in System Preferences>Users & Groups), log in to that, and see if logic works. this will tell you if the problem is 'global', or just related to your account.

    or delete the app, and redownload from the App Store (which is where it should be installed from)...
     

Share This Page