I have been given an Imac G3

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by dadgabb, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. dadgabb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #1
    Hello can you help please, I am new to computers and the forum.

    I have been given a G3 512Mb 40GHd and it is driving me to destuction.

    I have os X 10.1.3 discs in a pack all apple logo.

    I find it impossible to access apple support downloads as it locks IE5.1 at some jpg? and after hours of waiting, nothing happens.

    I cannot load firefox as it wants a better OS

    I have tried to load *** OS X *****dmg but the iMac just tells me that disc copy cannot do it? and leaves me with a box titled OPEN which makes no sence at all.

    I have ordred OS X 10.5 should this be OK?

    Thank you
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
  3. dadgabb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #3
    reply

    Thank you for the reply , Is there an optimised list of imac G3 sotware.
     
  4. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    What processor speed is your iMac?
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    You cannot install 10.5 on a G3.
    My suggestion is to install 10.3 (Panther) and not waste your time trying to get anything newer than that installed on there.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  7. dadgabb thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #7
    list for G3 imac Help

    Is there a recommended software upgrade list for the iMac G3, Thank you.

    I.e. Best OS X
     

Share This Page