I have it !!!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tex-Twil, Oct 28, 2008.

1. Tex-Twil macrumors 68020

Tex-Twil

Hello,
    so I have been waiting to write this post for 7 moths !! This is my 1st post ever from a OSX. I recieved my new unibody MBP toady and this starts my OSX life.

I was a PC (Linux/Windows) user and I've just switched.

Usually pple here ask what are the 1st steps to do but since I've been reding this forum for 7 months I kind of collected bookmarks and apps and steps to do :)

BUT: the 1st thing that annoys me is that the screen is kind of strange. There is a very small variation of brightness all the time. Like kind of almost unnoticeable blinking !

cheers,
    Tex

2. Crash1234 macrumors regular

Is it possible that the screen thing you're talking about is due to the ambient light sensor? When I first got mine I thought there was something wrong with the screen b/c sometimes when I moved the laptop the brightness would change, but then I figured out that there was a light sensor and the brightness of the screen changed according to the light in the room you're in.

3. rychencop macrumors 65816

rychencop

congrats! i did the same thing prior to buying my first mac. collect tips and programs to use.

check your ambient light sensor settings in system preferences/display. a few people have had the same issue and that is the culprit. i guess!
    you also may want to calibrate the display profile.

good luck!

4. paul.b.davis macrumors 6502

paul.b.davis

5. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

Tex-Twil

I desactivated it so I will see.

Can't I have a little "welcome to the OSX world" ? :) This is what people usually answer to this kind of thread. :p

6. Tex-Twil thread starter macrumors 68020

Tex-Twil

7. rychencop macrumors 65816

rychencop

8. RKpro macrumors 6502

Congrats!

I switched last Friday myself :D