I have just received my iMac 24"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by andyw2004, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. andyw2004 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #1
    It seems very nice so far and I am just updating it to leopard. It's one of the new 3.06GHz models and Apple upgraded it to 4GB RAM - with my educational discount it's probably not worth my hassle to install my own. So far the screen seems (to my eyes) perfect and there are no flaws or blemishes I can see (it was built in week 21). So far I am very happy with it, but I got disillusioned with an iBook G4 before (I use Linux by preference) so I am still wondering if I will find this as irritating as that one - I think not because at the time I was using Windows at work, Linux on my desktop and OSX on my laptop. I was very busy at the time and it was just too much to try to work with all three. This time I've more-or-less ditched Linux in favour of OS-X so we'll see how I get on - I have a Windows laptop now.

    So far I have been impressed with the speed of the thing and by that screen - it's by far the biggest monitor I have used and it looks beautiful, even from clear across the room!
     
  2. Mollemand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #2
    Congrats!

    Welcome back (from a 1 day mac owner - lifetime user) :D

    So far my 3.06 has not put me through any disappointments save the sound. It is cardboard compared to my PC. However everything else on my PC is cardboard compared to my mac. You guessed it: I'll live :D ... and then I'll buy an optical S/P-DIF sound system - problem solved!

    I just hope that all of you new iMac owners out there has the same rather silly grin on your faces as I have. I love OSX@home so far. :apple:

    Good luck, and congrats!
     
  3. rfanch3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    #3
    What system were you looking at getting? I have the harmon sticks 2 and like them but dont like the crackling when i bump the plug.
     
  4. andyw2004 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    I have that problem too!

    They make an awful racket when you pull them out!
     
  5. Mollemand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #5
    I was thinking Logitec Z-5500 or 5450

    Edit: Not good looking - but excellent sound for the dollar. I've got Logitec sound on my PC and I love the clean sound. My only con is the sub wich is rather squashy.
     
  6. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #6
    Wrong. Installing RAM on the new iMacs couldn't be any easier. Think of the few hundred bucks you could have saved and spent on beer....
     
  7. Mollemand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #7
    Couldn't agree more. Apple has a guide for it. Buy quality for half the price and install it yourself.

    Edit: Wait for a while as the marked adjusts to the 800MHz and it will be 1/2 the price. But you will have to install it yourself. If you never did it before, it is kind of like biting down on your first oyster. Alive, messy and a thrill. :D
     
  8. andyw2004 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    I got this new machine because my old one broke down for reasons unknown. That was home-built but I decided to ditch that one and the decision this time was to buy one "ready-made". Even £100 wouldn't tempt me to fit my own memory and I don't think the saving was that much...
     
  9. Mollemand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #9
    Fair enough, but I have personally fitted ram in more than 100 PC's (PC's SGI's Mac's DEC's). To me it is not a big deal to fit it in a mac (as you do have apple guidelines). I understand the feeling of having done something wrong. Yet to my experience, the only thing you can do wrong is applying a static charge or abusive fitting. The other wrong is faulty RAM circuits. This is not your fault. And this gives you random failures on the computer. It is hard to make out yourself but it can be tested at your vendor (or you can do it yourself). It happens very seldom if you buy quality ram.
     
  10. andyw2004 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    Of course, hitherto I have always done it myself, but this time, given how I value my time, I decided to let Apple do it.
     
  11. Mollemand macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #11
    your choice - no worries - I respect it. Time over money is a valid excuse.
     
  12. Jon.Stewart87 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
  13. andyw2004 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #13
    Yes it is. I am still amazed by how nice it looks.
     
  14. mogzieee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    Well done you....


    ....expect a similar thread when I get my new MB in July....
     

Share This Page