I have one legitiment complaint- Safari Doesn't Cache Pages

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Simgar988, Apr 12, 2010.

  1. Simgar988 macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #1
    In safari, whenever I "go back one page" the page ALWAYS refreshes and is NEVER cached. Even when I only have ONE page open, it always refreshes.

    macrumors,
    cnn,
    EVERYTHING.

    wtf - this is making me HATE this thing. It already takes long enough to render webpages.

    Other than that, I love the device!
     
  2. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #2
    That's strange that it doesn't cache websites.
     
  3. PCClone macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
  4. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    So the iPad can't cache websites?

    If so even the Zune HD and Opera Mini can cache websites.
     
  5. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    It'd be easy enough for someone to write an App that caches webpages if there's a demand for it.
     
  6. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #6
    Is the page memory intensive, i.e have many objects such as images?
     
  7. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #7
    Yeah, but would Apple allow it? I doubt it. And multitasking would have to work for Safari and a caching app to run at the same time.
     
  8. Simgar988 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #8
    I now test it on every single page I go to and it has never once catched
     
  9. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    Under Settings > Safari, it gives you an option to "Clear Cache." What would be the point of that if it wasn't doing any caching?
     
  10. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #10
    Can you reboot your iPad and try again? Don't run any apps before safari.
     
  11. diabolic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #11
    Same here, but until reading your thread, I never noticed it. I get good speed with my wifi network and it's only taken a few seconds to reload a page. Doesn't bug me since reloads are quick, but I admit I don't jump back very often.
     
  12. Simgar988 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #12
    I saw that and idk...

    does anyone's ipad have any cached prior webpages when you hit the go back button?
     
  13. diabolic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #13
    Maybe it is loading a cached page when you go back. For me, the reloading is fast, maybe 2-3 seconds.
     
  14. Simgar988 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #14
    loading a cached page? I feel like that defeats the whole purpose. It takes just as to go back as it does to go to the site to begin with.
     
  15. California King macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #15
    Try it on a website that has a lot of images like Engadget.com
     
  16. Simgar988 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #16
    this...

    I can't believe you guys don't think the iPad is slow with macrumors! it takes FOREVER to render a page of threads. Checkerbox galore as you scroll down.
     
  17. diabolic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #17
    11 seconds to load Engadget after a "clear cache" and 11 seconds to go back to it, so I don't see it caching anything here..

    4 seconds to load and render the iPad forum here. The same when I go back to it.

    I used a stopwatch to make sure my timing was right.
     
  18. Ener Ji macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #18
    Safari is the #1 disappointment on the iPad. Slow to load, slow to render, reloads galore when switching between open pages or going back / forward. It's really a bit of a disaster compared to a laptop browser.

    I know, I know--I shouldn't compare to a laptop but I can't help it...the device is otherwise so capable, I expect it to have a similarly capable browsing experience as well.
     
  19. mattku07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #19
    Is caching really that big of a deal breaker?
     
  20. BenCO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    #20
    I made a thread about this last week wondering the same thing. It just doesn't have enough memory. It's a real pain for someone like me who does heavy forum browsing. Check the index of a busy forum, spot 2-3 threads you want to check, but after you hit back you have to go hunt them down again. Forums that move fast means you're checking back at the top, or another page depending.

    For those that get the 3G model, there's no way you can stay under 250mb with this short coming, so plan accordingly. Every page you visit and hit back on, you just loaded it twice.

    I too find this to be a big deal :mad:
     
  21. Simgar988 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #21
    Yes Matt, it is. It makes my macbook pro a much better "browsing" experience, thus eliminating 1/2 of the reason why I want one. Yes, the portability and magic of it is great, but it's comparable to my old G4 ibook from 07... except it doesn't cache pages.
     
  22. fishepa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
  23. Simgar988 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Simgar988

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    UYBAATC
    #23
    yes, especially since a solution has already been created.
     
  24. lily69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #24
    Maybe it can cache to disk, I mean internal memory other than RAM.

    The first minute I got my iPad, I have noticed it, very annoying. Browsing is slower (more than 50%) than my 5 years old Macbook.
    I just downloaded Micro Web today, turn on Ads filter, it speeds quite a bit for this forum.
     
  25. bostonte macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #25
    For forum sites trying holding your finger on the link and then picking open in new page. When done reading the thread close that page and go back to the original.

    Provided you don't have many pages open and there aren't a whole lot of images, it should keep the original page in memory. Mine does.
     

Share This Page