I have Tmobile internet package, how to activate on iPhone ??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Semio1es, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. Semio1es macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #1
    I have a first gen unlocked and activated iphone. I have total internet package for tmobile. My phone works and I can get on via WIFI but how do I get the data plan package to work?
     
  2. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    I'm not too sure on total internet. I know that for T-Zones, there's a hack in Cydia. You might try searching for "T-Mobile" in Cydia, and installing the TZones Hack. Not sure if it'll help with the total internet, though.
     
  3. Semio1es thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #3
    I haven't found a solution, any have an ideas??
     
  4. melissarae macrumors regular

    melissarae

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Location:
    tampa, florida
    #4
    hmm i didn't know there was anything that we have to do to activate it... i just called tmobile yesterday to add the total internet package to both iphones and they just said give it 2 to 48 hours for it to start working. they never said anything about having to activate anything on the phones.
     
  5. dquattlebum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sacramento,CA
    #5
    I believe you need to enter the APN.

    Go to Settings > General > Network > Cellular Data Network...

    For the APN enter 'internet2.voicestream.com'
    Username and password are 'guest'

    Reset phone and you should be good to go...
     
  6. malolans macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    #6
    I have it set up on my phone, this is what I used but for the user name and password. They need to be left blank. You do not need to reset the phone either.
     
  7. melissarae macrumors regular

    melissarae

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Location:
    tampa, florida
    #7
    did this but it's still not working yet. if it doesn't work by late tomorrow (which will be 48 hours after i called to add the service to my plan)... then i guess i'll be calling tmobile.
     
  8. Semio1es thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #8
    I followed the instructions from malolans and it worked!! I did not include a username or password, I just left them blank. What I did:

    Turned off phone.
    Removed SIM card.
    Turned on phone.
    Turned off phone.
    Inserted SIM card.
    Turned on phone.
    Went to Settings > General > Network > Cellular Data Network...
    Entered internet2.voicestream.com
    Went back to home screen and I had the "E".
    Went to yahoo successfully.
     
  9. melissarae macrumors regular

    melissarae

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Location:
    tampa, florida
    #9
    should i have wifi turned off? or does it matter? since i'm at home it uses my wifi signal. so if i turn off wifi, i should be able to still access internet using Edge if i get the above instructions to work correctly.... right?
     
  10. melissarae macrumors regular

    melissarae

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Location:
    tampa, florida
    #10
    WHOOO HOOO!!!! i did everything you just did except remove and reinsert sim card... i just turned it off and turned it back on then the rest... and i how have the E and access macrumors.com

    can't wait to see what kind of service i get when i'm out and about. i'll be sure to report back my experience...
     
  11. MichaelLogan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #11
    When I got my iPhone a couple of weeks ago, I went into the local TMo store to change my Sidekick plan to TMo Total Internet. I told them I was getting an unlocked iPhone. They have no issues with that.

    The TMo guy said it might take as long as 48 hours to transfer. When the 48 hours were up and I still didn't have data, I went back. The guy checked that the plan had been changed, and then called TMo tech support and set up my iPhone for me. Granted, it was dead simple once he got the right guy on the phone, and I could have figured it out myself by reading this forum--but I was impressed by the customer service.

    And Edge on my 2G iPhone is usually way faster than it ever was on my Sidekick II. I wonder why?
     

Share This Page