I have tried all the ways to install Leopard on my ibook G4 i have no results

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Leolizm, Aug 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Leolizm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #1
    Hey i have tried many ways

    1. Normal Installation
    2. Leopard assist
    3. open firm ware - when i type it says could not identify all sentences i typed the result wa not "ok"

    I need a result and i know my mac can go for LEOPARD

    Help me

    800mhz
    :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Does your iBook have a DvD drive? Some iBooks of that model don't have one. To test try playing a DvD Movie.
     
  3. Leolizm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #3
    there are all the requirements that they ask for...

    There are all the software and hardware requirements that are needed but it still doesn't work...



    besides, i am trying to install leopard from the hard disk itself.


    Plz help me out.
     
  4. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    What does it say when you try to install it? Does it say you don't have the software requirements or what? :confused:
     
  5. AppleCode macrumors regular

    AppleCode

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #5
    Maybe you need to boot from the DVD. By holding down C at bootup
     
  6. kernkraft macrumors 68020

    kernkraft

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #6
    I know that the thread is not about this...
    In theory, you can run Leopard on a G4 iBook, but why would you want to do that? Tiger runs so much better on them. Unless you require Leopard for a particular application, I wouldn't pass Tiger.
     
  7. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    shouldn't have to do that if the current OS on the computer is working...
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    There's your problem. Leopard doesn't like to be installed from the hard disk. Unless it's on it own specially formatted partition.
     
  9. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  10. Leolizm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #10
    So how can i burn it to dvd

    I have only 4.7 gb disk and the file is of 7.51 GB so is their a proper way to burn it or should i compress it
    :confused::confused::confused:
     
  11. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    No, I meant a retail DVD.
     
  12. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #12
    go buy the retail dvd and you will see it will install without any problems but it will slow your ibook right down ,it does my 1.42 ghz mini with 1gb ram slows right down , feels more like my mini would have only a 450mhz G4 and 256mb ram when running leopard , i bought the disc out of curiosity because my mini is my operating system test platform so i needed leopard on it and because everyone was praising the leopard like it was one of the 7 wonders of the world , but i definitely keep tiger on the Mac's i have to do any kind of work on , as tiger is still the best operating system apple has developed in recent years
     
  13. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #13
    trying to install leopard from the hard disk...so where did the Leopard come from? It sounds like it was an illegal torrent download.
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    That's my guess. The OP should ask a fellow Mac friend or look on eBay for Leopard.
     
  15. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #15
    The OP's Mac is slightly below the system requirements for Leopard, so presumably there has to be some hacking involved (hence the mention of Leopard assist). Possibly that is the source of the problems.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page