I have XCode tools but I want to install iPhone SDK..don't want xcode.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ZebraineZ, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. ZebraineZ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #1
    Sorry for the long title...anyways If I already have XCode how do I NOT install the XCode in the SDK so I can save space, or maybe hopefully if I do install it then it doesn't add more useless space.

    PLEASE I don't want to waste precious 4.2gigs on empty bytes so I would really need help with this.
     
  2. nbidgood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #2
    me too

    did you have any luck with this? i'm in the same situation.

    thanks
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    You USE XCode FOR the SDK! :confused::rolleyes:

    How the heck do you expect to write code without it?
     
  4. themiracle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #4
    It's not a completely separate install of xcode. If you're installing to the same folder, /Developer by default, it just give you a new version over the old one and installs the SDK files.
     
  5. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #5
    You need a new version of XCode with every new iPhone SDK build. It just overwrites the previous version. It's not like it's installing a new 2GB of stuff every time.
     
  6. ZebraineZ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #6
    Lol it has been over a month but thank you so much! Now I can get back to what I wanted to do.....<3
     
  7. Mikey B macrumors 65816

    Mikey B

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    the island
    #7
    I'm confused. How do you plan on developing apps and provisioning your iPhone to test them without Xcode? :confused:
     
  8. nbidgood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #8
    i'm well aware that xcode is part of the sdk. i was hoping that since i had just installed xcode 3.1.2 a few months ago, i wouldn't have to re-download and reinstall that portion of the iphone sdk. that is, i was hoping there was a way to upgrade an existing xcode install to to add the iphone sdk. but, apparently it's a package deal.
     
  9. ZebraineZ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #9
    What we mean is, since the iphone SDK installation program has XCode greyed out and already checked for you, then that means we HAVE to install it even though we have it installed ALREADY. Get it? Because we wanted to know if it would just add on the extra blank-gigs and waste our space, since (no offence) OS X kind of does that alot.
     
  10. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #10
    ++ It's like saying I want to use Word, but don't want to install Office.
     
  11. nbidgood macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #11
    no, it's like saying i want to use Word without having to reinstall the operating system.
     
  12. iKriz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2006
    #12
    No its more like i want to install the word document viewer without having to download and install office.

    The solution would be to provide just the simple SDK as download with a requirement of xcode.. (excluded from the download) so if xcode is already installed you dont need to install a huge 3GB file over a slow work connection :)
     

Share This Page