I just bought 13" mbp base model

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by imeth, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. imeth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #1
    I started up, ready to go. Comes with Lion. Then I shut it down, installed 8GB ram and 750GB Hdd. I started it up, got the folder with question mark. Then I restarted the Mac , pressed n hold option key but only mouse shows up. Help
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    You have to install Lion on the new hard drive as well, otherwise the computer has nothing to load.
     
  3. Naimfan macrumors 68040

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #3
    You need to install Lion on your new hard drive.
     
  4. dsciel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #4
    the HDD need to formatted using Utilities to MAC OS Journal
     
  5. imeth thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #5
    How do I install lion on the harddrive? Where is the option to get to that screen? Note Apple didnt ship Lion on disc
     
  6. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #6
    You'll need an external enclosure for the hard drive that came with it so you can access the recovery partition.
     
  7. imeth thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #7
    I am sorry, I don't know what that means. All I have is the HHD
     
  8. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #8
    You need an enclosure that will allow you to connect the original hard drive to the computer via USB, so you can boot from it and get into disk utility. You could also try putting the original back in, then searching for instructions on how to make a Lion install disk, and use that to install Lion on the new drive.
     
  9. thunng8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    #9
    Another option is to Put the old hard disk back in, do a software update. The update contains new firmware for the macbook pro that has internet recovery. Put in new hard disk and hold Command-r on startup, this will download Lion (almost 4gb) and then install Lion on new hard drive.
     
  10. imeth thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #10
    Trying this right now. Wish me luck
     
  11. imeth thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #11
    That didnt work. Shows up icon ? Folder

    ----------

    What is the best and easiet route. I don't want to take this back to apple store frustrated.
     
  12. i4k20c macrumors 6502a

    i4k20c

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    #12
    do you have a spare USB?

    use this to create a lion boot and install it from there.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/dl1433
     
  13. thunng8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    #13
    It should work. Did the software update include the new EFI firmware? It is on the front page that the EFI firmware includes internet recovery. You would need to install the firmware before internet recovery works.
     
  14. imeth thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #14
    Yes. I installed new firmware. Restarted and everything. I then installed the new HDD. Command r but folder with question mark appeared
     
  15. imeth thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #15
    Thanks to all that replied. It's a success, I had to install and update Lion twice, apparently the first update didn't update the recovery. Put it on a USB, hit option and viola.. So happy (3hrs of stress) ha.
     

Share This Page