i just bought a canon elura 100..what next?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by bams27, Oct 12, 2007.

1. bams27 macrumors member

bams27

what else do i need? any suggestions? i prefer just the standard not expensive ones..

a tripod?

mic? external right?

firewire 4 pin?

im a newbie and i just need someone's help on what other accessories do i need?

i am going to start writing scripts and make short films with my friends.

thanx a lot ppl :)

2. Denali9 macrumors member

Canon Elura

Hi,
    it always depends on what you do. I have the same model and I find the image quality outside with a lot of light is great but indoor, it ain't that good. Play around with it and you will probably need an extra battery, tripod, a few tapes.

I believe you can attach an external light but since I never bothered, I just make sure that all lights are opened when I filmed.

Good luck

3. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

The standard stuff will be expensive. Making (quality) movies is expensive. Most people get caught up in buying everything they need to make a good movie before they learn to use it correctly. I totally encourage people to go out and make a few projects without some of the things you listed and then look back and ask "What is wrong with my project?"

You will absolutely need a 4pin to 6pin FW cable. Tripods are always a good idea, start with that. External mics are great if you can afford them (more than just the mic. you need a windscreen, XLR cable, a way to attach that XLR to your camera, shockmount, and a boom pole).

4. seany916 macrumors 6502

cheapie tripod for $25-35

Rode Videomic? should plug right into your mic jack

5. erichian macrumors newbie

erichian

Canon and Apple :)