I just bought a MBP yesterday and I LOVE IT!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by akeem923, Jul 9, 2008.

1. akeem923 macrumors newbie

hello all. i must say that this is a fantastic machine for what it does. I am glad that I went with the MBP over the MB (yes, i was one of those should i get the blackbook or the MBP...lol). The configuration I got is the 2.4 ghz processor with 200 gb hard drive and 4 gb of ram. any recommendations from my fellow MBP users you may recommend? thank you.

2. johngardiner macrumors regular

First congrats on your purchase... you'll love it more and more every day! Second, what kind of recommendations are you looking for? Peripherals? Software? OSX tips? Let us know and we'll be glad to help!

3. markgamber macrumors 6502

I got mine about a month ago and I love it. Recommendations depend one what you want to do. Personally, I'm a developer and immediately upgraded ram from 2 to 4gb. Second thing I did was buy VMWare Fusion so I could continue doing Windows dev on the MBP. Third thing I did was buy Office 2008 for Entourage (it's the only solution I know of for accessing two Exchange servers). Oh...and I replaced the old wireless router with a new one that supports 802.11n mode and it really made a big difference.

Two weeks after I got mine, my poor wife was so envious I got her a Macbook. She really likes that, too, and it's slightly inferior to the MBP, but not by much.

4. noodle654 macrumors 68020

noodle654

Buy a case (ZeroShock III, Incase) and start to think if you need a desktop setup. Do you plan on using your computer at your desk the entire time or will you be traveling? If you are going to use your computer as a desktop, I would invest in an external display, keyboard, and mouse. Sick setup there. I would also invest in cleaning supplies such as iKlear. Also invest in an external hard drive.

5. akeem923 thread starter macrumors newbie