I just can't decide. 13 or 15 inch rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by domemvs, Jun 10, 2014.

1. domemvs, Jun 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014

domemvs macrumors member

Hi guys.

I need your help. I know there are hundreds, if not thousands of similar threads out there. I read many of these, I read buyers' guides, I talked to friends. Still I couldn't figure out which rMBP to buy.

So my ideal MBP, which of course doesn't exist, would be a 13" model with quad core i7, 16GB, 512GB and dedicated graphics.

So basically it'sa trade-off between power and mobility.

What do I do?
    I'm a student. In the past I used to take my MacBook to university almost every day. Now that I do my Master's degree I almost never take it to university. In case I need a "computer" there I take my 10" inch tablet with me. Also: I'll finish university next year. So at the latest by the end of next year I will hopefully have a full-time job and I do not need to take a computer with me at all. Or at least not my own. So, mobility is not as important to me as it used to be. On the other hand, the latest 13" rMBP being so thin and light and having a reasonable battery life - maybe I'd take it with me more often again. (My current battery drains within 1-2 hours so I always need to take the cahrger with me, which is annoying as *****)

What do I do with the laptop?
    Mainly getting office work done or surfing the Internet. Probably 80% of the time I do things that would not call for a Mac anyway. But the rest of the time I'm into all kinds of media-stuff. Especially music production. I love Logic Pro and my home studio has been growing the last months. This is the main reason why I wanna get a new computer anyway. My good ol' Late 2008 aluminum MacBook just isn't the right machine for producing.