I just got an Alu 24" iMac at work today!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by danny_w, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #1
    And it is gorgeous! Am am cloning now in preparation for updating and getting it prepped for work. It is the first iMac (and one of only a handful of Macs) at my company. I had to agree to provide my own support in order to get it, but it was worth it. Anyway, back to work!
     
  2. fireoutside macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #2
    Congrats!

    Congratulations! I've been trying to do the same at my work. But I just got the same machine at home and yes, it is amazing!
     
  3. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #3
    That's fantastic, I would love to do that but it would never happen.
     
  4. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    Not too long ago I would have said the same thing. Sometimes things do change...
     
  5. ALT-255 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #5
    Sweet! :D

    I am trying to talk my company into letting me run there laptop image in VMware Fusions on my MBP... would run WAY faster then there silly Dell laptops.
     
  6. danny_w thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    It came preloaded with 10.5 (I was hoping for 10.4 + drop-in disk) which I upgraded to 10.5.1 after cloning it with CCC. So far so good; I haven't noticed any obvious bugs so far, and it has been stable for the few hours that I have had it. I did notice Time Machine kept asking me if I wanted to use an external disk that I plugged in for TM backups (it was for CCC use), even though TM is disabled in System Preferences (strange).

    I have Tiger at home but have a Leopard family pack on order. Will Tiger and Leopard sync correctly (obviously not the Leopard-specific sync items)? I would like to keep my bookmarks and contacts the same both at work and at home.
     

Share This Page