I just got iPhone 3G - w/NO contract!?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CashAtTAMU, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. CashAtTAMU macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    I just got an iPhone 3G after a 3 hour wait in line.

    The kiosk I was at had a broken credit card/signature box. Fortunately I was going to pay with cash. I paid my 199 plus tax and they hurried me out the door telling me to activate it at home.

    Walking to the car I realized I had never agreed to or signed a new contract! :confused: I was already an AT&T customer but my contract ran out two months ago and I was waiting for the iPhone to renew.

    I'm sure the computer says I'm under a new contract, but am I really? And what should I do with the phone, try to sell it before I activate it?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Just unlock it and use it with someone who doesn't force you to get a 70 dollar plan. Centennial comes to mind.
     
  3. scotty588 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iphone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5A347 Safari/525.20)

    activation requires a contract I bet.
     
  4. CashAtTAMU thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #4
    still a brick anyway

    Doesn't matter. I still can't activate it.

    I have no phone at all at the moment. The guy killed my old sim card and turned on the new one in the iPhone. I just logged into my AT&T account and it says my mobile is suspended in red font at the top of every page.
     
  5. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #5
    Okay, well you obviously go back to store and get it fixed.
     
  6. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #6
    The dude dogged you! Should have been able to use the old SIM card in your previous phone, which is what they did with mine...:(
     

Share This Page