I just missed Bill Gates

Koodauw

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Nov 17, 2003
Madison
Bill Gates was a surprise guest lecturer at a Comp Science class at the UW yesterday. While I am not a comp sci guy, it would of been cool to sit in on a lecture like that. I feel bad for anyone who skipped class that day.

Link

Sdashiki

macrumors 68040
Aug 11, 2005
Behind the lens
What can the mr im not a programmer I dont write code or really do anything Gates tell you about Computer Science other than what his company does for it?

im_to_hyper

macrumors 65816
Aug 25, 2004
Pasadena, California, USA
Wait. The UW -- that would be Madison... since your location is the #1 party school?

And given who the speaker was, they probably didn't miss too much. Oh well, I don't mind him. Too bad he didn't give away free stuff to the class.

EDIT: Idiot Me. Click link. Badger Herald. Yup.

Chaszmyr

macrumors 601
Aug 9, 2002
Sdashiki said:
What can the mr im not a programmer I dont write code or really do anything Gates tell you about Computer Science other than what his company does for it?
Uhh.... Unlike Steve Jobs, Bill Gates can write code (though I am well aware he didn't write any of the code that he is most famous for).

IJ Reilly

macrumors P6
Jul 16, 2002
Palookaville
Chaszmyr said:
Uhh.... Unlike Steve Jobs, Bill Gates can write code (though I am well aware he didn't write any of the code that he is most famous for).
Maybe, but I'm quite certain that he hasn't written a line of actual code since the 1970s, and he wrote precious little then either. In any case I wouldn't use the ability to write computer code to be the mark of a real technologist. I think we all know it's really all about ideas. By that measure, Bill can't hold a candle to Steve as a technologist.

Sdashiki

macrumors 68040
Aug 11, 2005
Behind the lens
Bill Gates is a businessman, and a damn good one. Proven, in capitalism, by him being the richest american (is he still?).