I just signed up to be a BETA tester....

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by a-m-k, Jul 9, 2018.

  1. a-m-k macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
    What exactly will I have to do? Will I have to report to Apple about any flaws in the new OS? I figured that if I downloaded it now, I could get a head start on learning the new software.... I'm looking forward to this. :)
     
  2. Banglazed macrumors demi-god

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #2
    Welcome to the beta train. Just make sure you’re mentally prepared to experience plenty of bugs, report them and add suggestions if you can to improve the software via Feedback app.
     
  3. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #3
    Thank you. Where is the feedback app? I am using the Xcode-beta 2 app, but I am going to wait until later today (it's now after midnight on Tuesday July 10th) to download the new OSX because it takes a long time. :)
     
  4. Banglazed macrumors demi-god

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #4
    Launch Finder and search for Feedback since I believe it is hidden.
     
  5. Erasmus macrumors 68030

    Erasmus

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    Hiding from Omnius in Australia
    #5
    It's possible it will be automatically added to your dock when you install the beta OS. I think it was for me when I beta'd a previous OS.

    Also, you don't have to do anything if you don't want. It's not like Apple will send lawyers after you if you DON'T report any bugs you find.
     
  6. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #6
    I have something called feedback assistant..... Would you all need me to provide a screenshot?
     
  7. allan.nyholm macrumors 6502a

    allan.nyholm

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    #7
    You have the correct app on hand :) Log in with your AppleID credentials.
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    a-m-k --

    I've seen your posts and questions before.
    I would advise you to NOT start beta testing a new OS on your "main Mac drive".

    If you want to play with the new OS, do so on AN EXTERNAL DRIVE that is used only for that purpose.

    Otherwise, you may be sorry for the problems that ensue...

    My opinion only.
     
  9. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #9
    I finally got done updating the beta software. Given my various issues, I don't really see that much of a difference performance wise. My MBP will be six in early December. (I just get the spinning beachball if I type too fast.)
     
  10. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #10
    I agree with this. I would never be a beta tester if I had only one machine, and it was an older one at that..... Beta testing can be very risky!
     
  11. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #11
    I'm running the Advanced Mac Cleaner every night before I log off. I am sticking with the theory of the slowness because of the age of my MBP. I seem to have a lot of space on my HDD, but I just don't understand why it's so slow (sometimes).
     
  12. macintoshmac macrumors 68030

    macintoshmac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #12
    1. Backup your current drive (preferably make a bootable copy with Carbon Copy Cloner)
    2. Use the beta as you would, normally
    3. If you encounter any bugs, report via Bug Reporter/ Feedback Assistant
    4. Enjoy the new OS (this one is really good).
     
  13. TimothyR734 macrumors 65816

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
  14. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #14
    Some of those Mac Cleaner apps are more trouble than they're worth.

    The reason you're seeing beachballs is because you're trying to use an OS designed to run more smoothly on Macs with SSDs. The HDDs in old MBPs are pretty slow...
     
  15. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #15
    IMHO, I think safari is acting up. Sometimes, safari is fine and sometimes when I type I don't see some of the letters right away, is this a fluke with the beta that should be reported, or is it because, like I mentioned before, my MBP is five years old. I keep checking my bar graph and I have plenty of room on my (original) HDD. (I'm going to upgrade to a SSD when it's obvious I have to.

    My question is since my MBP is so slow as is, would it be worth it to find a new browser, and if so, what do you suggest? Though, wold it be worth finding one if the current OS isn't the official release?
     
  16. TimothyR734 macrumors 65816

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
    #16
    Hello it could be a glitch with Safari, You can use google chrome on your Mac I use it as well as opera, I like opera because I have a iPhone SE and can link with whatsapp in opera as well as the desktop app
     
  17. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #17
    Thank you, how do I get to it to download the browser and do I have to download a special BETA version?
     
  18. TimothyR734 macrumors 65816

    TimothyR734

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Location:
    Logsden Oregon
    #18
    I used a website called softpedia for apps I can't find the App Store on the top of the softpedia page click on the Mac tab scroll down and hit next page until you reach page 3 chrome is there
     
  19. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #19
    Thank you.
     
  20. Eduardo75890 macrumors regular

    Eduardo75890

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #20
    Welcome to the Beta. If you have a External hard drive try to do a Time Machine backup on it if you want to revert it back to the current MacOS High Sierra
     
  21. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #21
    My most recent backup to Time Machine was on June 1st. I accidentally missed July 1st. I think I won't back up to Time Machine until all the bugs that are going on with the beta are filtered out and the actual OS software available to the public is released.
     
  22. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #22
    Since probably it won't be until late September or early October that Mojave is released, that's an awfully long time to go without backing up your computer and data at all.... This is one reason people recommend that someone not use their primary/only machine for beta testing.....if something really goes sour, what will you do?
     
  23. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #23
    I've got my iPhone. :)
     
  24. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #24
    OP wrote:
    "I keep checking my bar graph and I have plenty of room on my (original) HDD. (I'm going to upgrade to a SSD when it's obvious I have to."

    I've responded to your complaints of beachballs and slowness many times in your previous postings and threads (as have others).

    The time to upgrade to an SSD is... NOW.

    You will NEVER "overcome the beachballs" until you do so.
     
  25. a-m-k thread starter macrumors 65816

    a-m-k

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #25
    I don't know if I am having a good day with the beta or what, but when I turned on my MBP a quarter past eleven in the morning my time, things ran a bit faster, yes. sometimes when I type the appearance of the word lags for a few words, but if this is a sign of progress with the BETA, I'll take it. Yes, when I shut my MBP down for the night. I had to do a hard shut down (?) and when I turned it back on, I had a window asking me what way I wanted to turn back on. (I think it was either in safe mode or normally.) So, I am keeping my fingers crossed it will be a good day. :)
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    OK. I think I'll give one of my my Mac friends a call.....
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    I just got off the phone with the friend I mentioned, they don't keep up with Apple anymore. :(. I hope I don't make anyone crazy, but I don't anticipate anything catastrophic (like a total MBP meltdown).
     

Share This Page

165 July 9, 2018