I know I'm dreaming but this would be a cool 3G feature

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Chupa Chupa, May 9, 2010.

  1. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #1
    No one in their right mind is going to use ATT's International 3G plan. You are going to go buy a prepaid data SIM when you arrive at whatever country.

    Now wouldn't it be cool if every single one of Apple's data partners plans could be accessed directly from the iPad as easily as ATTs? Go to London, stop by an O2 or Apple store, pick up a microSIM, pop it in your iPad, pick your plan from your iPad, and good to go. Your CC is billed for the plan so no worries. Move on to France, same deal, etc, etc.

    Even better... you could pick up foreign SIMs in the US at any Apple Store so you didn't even need to track one down when you arrived.

    If life were so uncomplicated like that.
     
  2. antiprotest macrumors 65816

    antiprotest

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
  3. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #3
    Since we are dreaming, why not use the same sim worldwide, and when you got to new country you could pick a provider and a plan right from the iPad?

    Sweet. :D
     
  4. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #4
    even better, how about more reasonable roaming rates? Skype manages to make intl calls cheap, why not the carriers?
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Actually I added added another line to my premier account and have an unlimited international roaming plan for the iPad now. Works great.
     
  6. Chupa Chupa thread starter macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #6
    Works great sure, but hella expensive. (and by expensive I mean massively overpriced -- though most of that is taxes and royalties ATT has to pay the host country and carrier). My idea is that you can pick up a SIM of a native carrier and pay non-roaming rates just like everyone else in the country. You can still do this, but it's more hassle. This just simplifies everything.
     
  7. nidserz macrumors 6502a

    nidserz

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai x Toronto
    #7
    Wait, I thought that the iPad was unlocked.
    Therefore, if I am in the US (from Canada)... can't I just pop in an ATT mico-sim and get data? Or O2 in the UK, etc?
     

Share This Page