I know why Apple doesn't want us to back up OTA...

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Cloudsurfer, Jan 25, 2008.

1. Cloudsurfer macrumors 65816

Cloudsurfer

Because it's excruciatingly slow. I tried the workaround that was referred to in one of the front page posts, and it's really not all that pretty. It's now backing up 34 GB at roughly an MB per second. That's a quarter of an hour per GB, on an 802.11n connection. It will take me over 8 hours for the backup to finish.

I'm on a late 2006 iMac (with 802.11n) and have the disk hooked up to an Extreme N. Network Utility claims a connection speed of 130 Mbps.

Now, it could very well be that Time Machine isn't built for this purpose, this being a workaround and all. I'm not technical at all, so for all I know things could be optimized. But if this is an indication of the current state of things, I feel sorry for everyone who got themselves a Time Capsule and have hundreds of GB to back up.

2. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

Jiddick ExRex

Keep in mind that Time Machine won't backup your entire drive each time a backup is called for. It simply backs up new files or files that have changed during the day (a so called 'Incremental' Backup).

I believe the reason why Airdisk backup support was pulled, was due to instability with larger files and the AEBS's notification procedure, so that if the connection was interrupted during backup, the AEBS would notify TM that the file was received although transfer wasn't finished yet.

3. liquidh2o macrumors 6502

why not back up directly to the external drive then attach it to the wifi router?

4. Cloudsurfer thread starter macrumors 65816

Cloudsurfer

Because I'm switching to an MBP in a few weeks and I don't want to plug in the drive every time I need to do a backup.