Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

whyrichard

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 15, 2002
And I want to buy an apple, just as I have had for my last seven computers, beginning with an apple IIC.

Thing is... I'm a grad student in architecture now, and I'll be using ALOT of computer imaging and modeling programs.

Some programs I'll be using:
3D autocad
rhino
illustrator
surfcam
and many more i forget the names of...

See my problem? I'll be using a fair amount of programs available only for windows.

questions:
are these programs very processor intensive? will a new dp powermac run virtual pc fast enough to not feel like an idiot running 3d modeling and perhaps even 3d animation?

should I get two computers? two desktops? a new powermac to compliment my ibook, and a used laptop pc?

any architecture people have any solutions?

thanks,

r.

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
Andover, MA
VPC 7 on a dual-2.5 wouldn't begin to be fast enough - because those are graphics-intensive apps. They'd work, but they'd be painfully slow.

I think it's not a bad idea to buy a cheap/used PC - no matter how cheap/used you go, it's likely to run circles around a state-of-the-art G5/VPC7 combo, and only for a few hundred more than the $250 VPC7 cost. Edit: I meant, buy a cheap PC and a nice PowerMac! ;)

whyrichard

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 15, 2002
would you or anyone have a suggestion for what level of pc i would need to be happy using these programs?

what is the priority? processor speed, ram, video ram, videocard, whichever...? I would want this pc only to run certain programs, I wouldn't even want it hooked up to the internet. wouldn't use it for any media whatsoever. wouldn't even need a cd drive, other then to install softward. thinking a desktop would be nice and fast and cheap, but smaller the better! a laptop with an external monitor port?