I Need a Router. Help?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iKeith, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. iKeith macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #1
    I have a mid-2007 iMac that needs replacing. It's become very slow. I connect to my ISP directly into the wall.

    I'm going to Target today to buy an iPad Air 2 64GB Wifi Only to use as my main computer now. (I'm getting it for $463 instead of $599. Can't resist!) I want to keep my iMac for printing and storing files though.

    I also want to get some wireless speakers. (Sorry if my terminology isn't right. I'm not a tech person by a long shot.)

    So, I need a router. I'm assuming that I won't be able to leave my iMac plugged into the wall jack because I'll need to plug the router into that. That means I need three devices to connect wirelessly.

    Also, I want reasonable security. I don't need Fort Knox-style but I don't want one easily hacked. I know virtually nothing about routers. And speed is definitely important to me. Speed and security.

    So, what's router, or feature in a router (since I'll very possibly buy it at Target since I'm getting discounts), should I definitely look for? Oh, and all three of my devices will be in the same small room with no walls interfering. At most, they'll be 10 ft. away from the router itself.

    Thanks heaps, everyone. I really do appreciate any tips, warnings, advice and experience you're kind enough to share.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Before you do this, you must consider:

    Can you make do with an iPad in place of a Mac?

    Remember, the iPad will "limit" you somewhat, insofar as file storage and file manipulation is concerned. I don't think iOS has anything equivalent to "the finder".

    Just something to think about before you take the plunge.
     
  3. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #3
    Thanks for the warning, Fishrrman. I'm 99% sure I can make do. I waaay over-bought when I bought my mid-2007 iMac. I thought I'd give myself a chance to grow into it but never did. My computer needs are so basic. General browsing, an occasional e-mail (very, very few of them) and mostly watching YouTube videos and other videos, listening to iTunes podcasts, and downloading up to half a dozen books. That's it. Basic stuff that would make a five year old scoff at me.

    Forgive my ignorance, put iPads don't have Finder? Can you create/store documents? (This would be the 1% of un-surety that I have about doing this.)

    As far as routers go, Target has a few Netgear routers. From what I remember about my time with routers in the past, Netgear isn't so great. Thoughts?
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Just make sure you get either an Apple AC or Netgear AC so the iPads get the best connection speeds.

    If you go with a non-Apple wireless then bookmark the Apple Support Document TCP and UDP ports used by Apple Software. This way you know what ports to open in your third party router!
     
  5. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #5
    I appreciate the link, satcomer. That will come in handy. From everything I read, I know I definitely want to go with the AC.

    I had an Airport Express once, for my iMac, but my ISP had trouble with recognizing it. When I plugged it in, it took just over an hour to recognize it. The connection wasn't always stable. That's why I'm hesitant to go with another one. I haven't ruled it out, but I'm hesitant.
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    You have to power off you ISP modem for least 3 minutes when changing out the device connected to that modem(usually routers)! This will give the old server/switch port to time look for a new IP/ MAC Address.
     
  7. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #7
    I think step #1 is understanding your internet connection. You say you plug you computer into the wall and get internet that way. Where does that wall plug go? do you pay a separate bill specifically for internet (or included as part of your cable or phone bill) or is it included in your rent?

    The reason we need to know this is there may already be a "router" of some kind in your connection. All you might need then is an access point. Having multiple "routers" piggybacked can cause you all kinds of problems.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Looking at the Target web site it looks like for AC routers they have some Linksys models and also the Netgear Nighthawk AC1900 (model R7000) available in store. Of the two, I would go with the Netgear. There is a good review of the Netgear here putting it at the top of there list for AC1900 class routers.

    This is a very full featured router you should be able to configure how you like.
     
  9. chino-rican macrumors member

    chino-rican

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Virginia
    #9
    Do you have an iPhone (or have you used one before)? Think of the iPad as being an iPhone with a way bigger screen and no "Phone" app. There is FaceTime, though, which can be used to make voice calls if paired to a capable phone.

    You can create some documents using Notes, Pages, Numbers, and Keynote (equivalent to Wordpad, Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, respectively, which are also available for download). And you can store these documents on your device as well as iCloud. But as far as using a Finder-style app to move, copy, or delete files, there is no such thing on iOS. You will also be able to take, import, store (organize into folders), and edit photos. However, the features and flexibility will be limited compared to OS X.

    It still sounds like it will be enough for your needs, but I just wanted to make sure you were as informed as possible.
     
  10. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #10
    I didn't know that. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  11. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #11
    I'm not all that tech savvy, especially with the lingo. I use US Internet. My apartment building is wired for it. I have the choice to either plug directly into the outlet with an ethernet cable (which I've been doing) or hook up a router. Now that I have an iPad Air 2, I needed to buy a router. The wireless signal is available, but not a router. I had to buy that.
     
  12. wlossw macrumors 6502a

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #12
  13. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #13
    Yeah, they had the Netgear AC1900 for $200. I went with the Netgear AC1200 and saved $100. Unfortunately, my friend called me and had to take me to Target right away, so I couldn't stick around to get people's recommendations.
     
  14. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #14
    And I appreciate you taking the time to do that. Thanks for explaining everything. If nothing else, I'm sure this will more than fit my needs. I don't mind making documents with Notes or some smaller note taking program. They're just personal things for myself and nothing important.
     
  15. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #15
    I didn't get your recommendation in time but I'm glad to hear that Netgear is a good brand, though, because that's what I got. My next post will show it.
     
  16. TrentS macrumors 6502

    TrentS

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Location:
    Overland Park, Kansas
    #16
    Before you run off and purchase a new router, you should first call your cable provider and ask them if they would provide their own router to you for free, as part of the package you might already be paying for.

    I went thru 2 routers before I found out my provider, Consolidated Communications, provides them with their bundled package. I have found out that routers just don't last very long ( whiskers growing in the electronics ), so why spend money on them if you don't have to.

    By the way, my provider offers Netgear routers, which has worked very well so far.
     
  17. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #17
    Thank you to everyone who responded. I'm sorry I couldn't stick around longer to get your insight but my friend with the great Target discount called and had to take me right away. Here's what I ended up with:

    iPad Air 2 64GB - Originally: $599. My price: $463
    Netgear AC1200 Smart Wifi Router (Dual Band) - Originally $100. My price: $73
    Bose SoundLink Mini II - Originally $199. My price: $136
    Total Original Price: $898
    My Total Price: $672


    For that, it was worth having to rush out the door on a moment's notice!
    [​IMG]
     
  18. iKeith thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #18
    Thanks for the heads-up. I just called my ISP to ask. They only rent them starting at $7/mo.
     
  19. wlossw macrumors 6502a

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #19
    I hope it works well for you! Good luck.
     
  20. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #20
    Hello,

    I have the small problem I didn't want to start a new thread. I am between picking Netgear R7000 and Tp-Link C7 archer.
    The C7 archer is $100 less and I can't tell whats the difference between the 2. I am looking for a router that can cover maximum area(multi-level house) and handle multiple user using multiple devices.

    There is also the Netgear R8000
     
  21. wlossw macrumors 6502a

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #21
    C7 has a slower cpu. The c9 is the same class as the r7000.

    The r8000 is the Same as the r7000 with an extra radio, so it creates 1 2.4 and 2 5 GHz networks. It's also supposed to force clients onto the "best" network for them, but this feature is buggy.

    Get the c9 or r7000.
     
  22. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #22
    I would go the Netgear! Plus IMHO TP-Link is a Chinese company that the US and other governments won't use and and suspect. So you get what you pay for.
     
  23. MacBH928 macrumors 68020

    MacBH928

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #23
    Thanks I guess I will just go with the r7000 its $70 more expensive though.

    1) What does faster CPU mean?

    2) Should I be worried that the R7000 has been on the market for 2 years? Maybe there is an update soon?
     
  24. wlossw macrumors 6502a

    wlossw

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    #24
    Faster cpu means it's dual core and can handle more connections from more devices without slowing down. End result: everything is faster under load.

    It is possible that a new router will come out at any time, but there's only so much they can do to improve things. (Because of power limits and channels dictated by law) The r7000 outperforms just about every other router that had been released iN The last 2 years, including the Google on hub. And remember that means it has had 2 years of work on its software, so it's not buggy as hell.

    Ac1900 class routers are the sweet spot of performance/cost for enthusiasts.

    And if all else fails, you can install open source 3rd party firmware and add new features down the road. The r7000 is one of the favorited of router geeks...
     

Share This Page