I need a simple 'How to..' guide to run Windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by jbrown, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #1
    New to this so bear with me please.

    I have a MBpro with latest Leopard running. HD partitioned into 2.

    I have a Windows XP Home install CD.

    How can I get it up and running on my computer? Simple pease as I'm not too 'techy' LOL.

    If possible, it would be nice to install it onto my second partition just to keep things clean on my main one.

    Thanks all:)
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
  3. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
  4. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  5. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #6
    Applications -> Utilities -> Boot Camp Assistant
     
  6. theITGuy macrumors 6502a

    theITGuy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    chasing the ghost in the machine
    #7
    You don't "need" it...but it's the easiest way to partition to setup Windoze.

    Cheers.

    -J.-
     
  7. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I can see BootCamp Assistant, but not BootCamp itself
     
  8. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #9
    *Boot Camp Assistant :p
     
  9. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #10
    That's Boot Camp. Run the Boot Camp Assistant and it will help you with installing Windows on your Mac.

    Thanks. I'm not on my Mac right now, so I couldn't remember if it was Assistant or not.
     
  10. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Ok.....

    I found bootcamp etc.

    Now I have previously partioned my hard drive into two parts - 90 gig which is my primary partition and has my Leopard sysem, and 60 gig ( which I'm prepared to erase if needed ).

    But bootcamp tells me my startup disc should only have one partition.

    Anyway around this? I do NOT want to reformat my main disc.

    cheers
     
  11. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #12
    It would be easier if you just deleted the second partition that you created. Boot Camp doesn't manage multiple partitions. You could install Windows on the second partition that you already have without using Boot Camp, but it's not as easy for non-techies.
     
  12. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #13
    How do I delete the partition ( I assume this will make it so my hd has only 1 partition ) - I can figure out how to erase it, but this will still leave 2 partitions.

    BTW thanks for the help!
     
  13. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #14
    Just put the Windows CD in the drive and reboot while holding down the 'C' key. Forget the Boot Camp Assistant. That way you can use your previously created partition.

    There is no way to "just delete" an existing partition without having to reformat the entire drive. At least not without third-party software.
     
  14. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #15
    Not true. I've done it plenty of times.

    - Open up Disk Utility (located at Applications -> Utilities).
    - Click the top hard drive node from the panel on the left.
    - Click on the Partition tab.
    - Select the partition you want to remove and click the minus (-) button.
    - Drag the Macintosh HD partition to fill the available space in the Volume Scheme.
    - Click the Apply button. It should now give you a message box that tells you that the XXXX volume will be removed and the Macintosh HD volume will be resized.
     
  15. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #16
    [​IMG]
     
  16. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #17
    The OP did not use Boot Camp to create the partition. I'm still not sure why Darth.Titan said that you can't delete a partition without 3rd party software.
     
  17. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #18

    Still, has he not heard of Disk Utility? :p
     
  18. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #19
    The OP is a non-techie. My mother-in-law has a Mac and has no clue what Disk Utility is. :D
     
  19. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
  20. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #21

    No I meant Darth.Titan. I saw that the OP is a little green, which is fine. I wouldn't expect them to know about Disk Utility.
     

Share This Page