I need clarification on the developer costs

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rtztgue, Jul 5, 2009.

1. rtztgue macrumors regular

I have heard from several sources that there are two ways to be a developer. One is free and the other costs money. The last few times I checked with apple there is the standard developer $99 and the enterprise level $299.

Is this something that was free before but they are now charging? or is there another way to get involved? Ultimately I just want the new OS downloads. I would like to get the 3.1 on my phone.

2. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

jackiecanev2

Wirelessly posted (BB 8900: BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.101 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/301)

If you are looking for early beta access, you will have to be a developer. Bottom line is that it will cost you $99

3. Maverick713 macrumors 6502

good question

I would also like to become a deveopler, I have some experience with deveoplment and it could be fun. I haven't used a mac before so the real cost for development is gonna be 99 + the cost of a mac mini, my neihbor who is in the same boat said that kind of system was pretty cool to play with SO in a couple months I will get started on this. In a sorta related note does everyone know that bookpool is gone?

4. dagomike macrumors 65816

Do you have to pay $99 to get the SDK? I assume so, but would like to tinker and not interested enough to spend the money.

5. Johnathan macrumors member

you don't need to pay anything to get the SDK. it's free. You won't be able to put your build on an iphone/app store without paying the 99$ though.

6. danpass macrumors 68020

danpass

I looked into it a couple of months ago and signed up for free.

Free gives you the developer tools and you can run them on a Mac. It also provides a "virtual" iPhone to test your programs.

But once you want to test your progs on a real iPhone you have to pony up the $99 for a different program/SDk.