I need help with a display resolution issue with an older MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by firlrumors, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. firlrumors macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #1
    Hello, I just purchased a 24", 1920x1080 screen (a iiyama 24" LCD - ProLite E2409HDS-B1 ) and strangley, I can't get higher res than 1600x900 :( on an old Macbook 2.1 (Intel Core 2 Duo 2GHz - 64Mo VRAM Intel GMA 950) not too familiar with all that. it looks blurry and disappointing in terms of sharpness. Kind of sucks no? http://i.imgur.com/DbtSh.png

    I've just seen here http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-2.0-white-13-late-2007-santa-rosa-specs.html that the graphics chip on this Macbook should support 1920x1080. So I don't understant :/
    Should I install updates? (been honestly looking for recent drivers for hours without success).
    Does anyone know what's wrong?
     
  2. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #2
    What connection are you using? You should be using DVI...
     
  3. firlrumors thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #3
    I was sold a female mini DVI / HDMI adaptor for the Macbook, not an Apple one, this one exactly.
     
  4. burnout8488 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Location:
    Endwell, NY
    #4
    You may need an HDMI to DVI cable, then use a genuine Apple DVI to Mini-DVI adapter for your Mac.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #5
    You should be using DVI. Does your monitor accept a DVI input? You can use Apple's official mini-DVI to DVI adaptor, I'm using one I bought off Monoprice.com and it's perfect. I also have a DVI cable from there. I'm running a 1920x1080 monitor as we speak with this setup. I imagine it's the mini-DVI to HDMI adaptor that's tripping you up.

    Also, taking a screenshot won't show us how blurry it is. It looks blurry because you're looking at a lower than native resolution on the screen, but the Mac is sending a good signal. So when you take a screenshot, it looks perfectly fine to everyone else.
     
  6. nicklad, Oct 12, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2011

    nicklad macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #6
    As others have said, this is because you're using the wrong adapter. You need a Mini-DVI to DVI adapter or a cable that goes straight from Mini-DVI to DVI.
     
  7. firlrumors thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; fr-fr) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Ok so is this a common issue? I will try with the adaptor you advice and would let you know if it helps. Thanx.
     

Share This Page