I need help with Coda "Sites"

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by FlashmanVC, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. FlashmanVC, Nov 14, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011

    FlashmanVC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #1
    I am having trouble setting up Coda Sites. Over the past couple of weeks I have tried browsing the web, viewing youtube, Google groups (panic coda, no replies) and contacting Coda (twice, no responce).

    I am new to Mac's, web programming and Coda but I managed to get a test program running using a PC :( (tradewindssoftware.com.au).

    I set
    1) Root URL: to http://tradewindssoftware.com.au
    2) Local URL: to http://localhost/
    3) Remote Root: (no idea what they want)
    4) Local Root: to /Users/jhart/Sites/w4 (used the Set button to browse to this)

    Are they OK?

    I am able to connect remotely OK and can preview OK (in Coda) but how can I test my local code on Firefox etc.
     
  2. a8ball macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #2
    You need to set up a local web server, like MAMP and change the ports to 80 since you are setting your local address to http://localhost
     
  3. jsm4182 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    #3
    If you're not using any server side scripting you don't need to set up a local server or set the local url in the Coda set settings.

    To preview the site in firefox or any other browser, in the Coda preview screen there is a button next to the address bar, clicking it will send the page to whatever app's logo is there, holding it will give you a list of other apps you can send it to.
     
  4. FlashmanVC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #4
    Hi,
    Thank you for answering. I had set Mamp up and the Apache port is 80.

    While trying to answer your reply I think have worked out what was needed. If I am not wrong Remote Root is appended to Root URL to indicate where the code resides on the server. While Local root is appended to the Local URL to indicate where it resides on my local server.

    I still do not have it set up properly, preview works if I descend the directory tree on the left hand side but it does not if I bring up a site by clicking on the "Site" button. I get "NOT FOUND the requested URL /index.html was not found on this server" and the address in the URL field is "http://localhost/index.html".

    I am at a loss as to why there seems to be no Manual, tutorials or even a Help system.

    Thank you again

    John
    Regards

    John
     
  5. jared_kipe macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    Does visiting localhost in Safari bring up the right page?

    This has less to do with Coda and more to do with setup of Apache. MAMP sets up http://localhost/ to be /Applications/MAMP/htdocs/

    So if you setup Coda to store your files in /Users/uname/Sites/whatever/ then how will MAMP's Apache know what file to server?

    Either setup Coda to store files inside the MAMP folder, setup Apache using /Applications/MAMP/conf/apache/httpd.conf , or use MAMP Pro to setup vhosts.

    I go for the vhosts version as it will allow you to run multiple sites under more logical urls like learningphp.local or macrumors.local.
     

Share This Page