I need help with downgrading!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by steidste, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. steidste macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #1
    I want to downgrade my jailbroken iPhone 3g 4.2.1 to any iOS 3, but everywhere I've looked says that I need a shsh blob... but I don't have one, I got this device from a friend with 4.2.1 and then I jailbroke it. Can anyone help me? Please?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    You can go down to 3.1.3 on an iPhone 3G without blobs.
    Just download the official 3.1.3 Ipsw and hold down the shift or option key and click restore on iTunes. Then select the the 3.1.3 to restore to it.
     
  3. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #3
    It's really that easy? Thanks! I'll try it.
     
  4. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #5
    Alright, I just tried it and it didn't work... :/ I'm trying again as we speak...
     
  5. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #6
    it didn't work... again... what do i do now?
     
  6. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #7
    What steps are you taking and how are you doing it. You should be as easy as 1-2-3. There are great tutorials on Iclarified as well.
     
  7. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  8. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #9
    I down loaded the 3.1.3 software, then I option clicked restore and chose it...
     
  9. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #10
    Posters in here forget to mention that Itunes will give you a 1015 error at the end. Once you have that error, run tiny umbrella and hit "exit recovery", then the phone should boot up normally.
     
  10. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #11
    I tried that... it booted up... the background is still the connect to itunes image... and when i slide to unlock it sends me to the emergency call screen
     
  11. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #12
    Yes, that is correct. You have restored your Iphone to 3.1.3 firmware which it shows emergency screen.

    Now, use redsn0w 0.9.4 to jailbreak it. Make sure when redsn0w ask for the firmware, you need to point to 3.1.2 and not 3.1.3.
     
  12. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #13
    Wait... what? Can you explain that any simpler? I'm kinda confused... :/
     
  13. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #14
    Here is the instruction on how to jailbreak your phone with 3.1.3.

    Read carefully at "Step five" where it tell you to pick 3.1.2.

    http://iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7443
     
  14. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #15
    Oh, ok got it. So after this it should for sure work now?
     
  15. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #16
    If you are using official carrier, you should be good to go. However, if you want to unlock, you can't because you were on 4.2.1 and I believe the baseband for 4.2.1 is 05.15. Therefore, you can't unlock on this baseband.

    PS. if you are in the US and with AT&T, you don't even need to go through this redsn0w to jailbreak. If your phone is at emergency screen, just pop in your AT&T sim, hook it up to Itume and it will activate your phone. Once it is done, you have so much option to jailbreak your phone with easier methods i.e. Spirit, Jailbreakme.com
     
  16. steidste thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Central Minnesota
    #17
    Ok, it worked :) but cydia is taking FOREVER to reload its data... -_-
     

Share This Page