I need help with photo stacking

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MacRy, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. MacRy macrumors 601

    MacRy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I thought I’d have a go at photo stacking today and I’m fine at taking the shots, importing them as a stack with auto align and then blending them. The end result looks good but I then want to export the finished result into Lightroom for further editing. How the hell do i do that? I ended up merging the layers and saving as a JPEG and importing that, but it’s really noisy and won’t take much stick in editing in Lightroom without it falling apart.
     
  2. mollyc macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    #2
    Export them from where? Photoshop? You just need to import them like an original file into LR.

    I would save it as a layered PS file and take that into LR.
     
  3. MacRy thread starter macrumors 601

    MacRy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #3
    Thanks Molly I’ll try that. I didn’t think of just saving it as a PS file.
     
  4. Apple fanboy macrumors Penryn

    Apple fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    Behind the Lens, UK
    #4
    Something I'd love to have a go at, but I don't have PS.
     
  5. kenoh macrumors demi-god

    kenoh

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #5
    I import the original images into Lightroom. Select them all, then right click then "edit in Photoshop as layers" that opens PS and loads them. Then work your magic. When done, close PS and it will ask if you want to save image click ok and it will put it in LR for you.

    Then if you dont need the originals, delete them.
     
  6. MacRy thread starter macrumors 601

    MacRy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #6
    Perfect. Thanks Ken I’ll try that.
     
  7. kenoh macrumors demi-god

    kenoh

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #7
    You can also open them as smart objects in PS but i dont know the difference... o_O
     
  8. Mark0 macrumors 6502

    Mark0

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    #8
    It let’s you do certain things that can be changed later, non-destructively. I use the Smart Object layer function when applying some camera raw effects, e.g. a vignette. It means that I can change the vignette (shape, size, density etc) without having to undo it and go through the process again. I just double click the camera raw but under the smart layer and can make changes there instead. I’m sure it does way more than what I’ve explained :)
     

Share This Page