I need more ethernet connections to my router. What do I do?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Qwerty11, Jun 1, 2014.

  1. Qwerty11 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #1
    So I am a little confused. My 4 ethernet connections on my router is occupied. I need to add 3 more devices to my network via ethernet. How can I accomplish this? Do I buy another router and plug it into the existing router? Do I need a switch? I don't know if a switch is what I'm needing. Help please!
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
  3. jonbravo77, Jun 1, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2014

    jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    You can get a dumb switch, nothing that has the word managed in it.

    You can see them here.

    http://www.newegg.com/Switches/SubCategory/ID-30
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    Just add a switch to one of the ports and plug your remaining devices into the switch.
     
  5. ssmed macrumors 6502

    ssmed

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You need to add a ethernet hub or switch to your network. Attach one of the router ports to the hub/switch and then attach your other devices to the hub. If you get a gigabit switch, attach all your devices to that and then attach it to the router. Your internal network will then be largely independent of the router although that is likely to be providing the IP addresses through DCHP.

    HTH
     
  6. Qwerty11 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #6
    Could you link me to one?
     
  7. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7

    Attached Files:

  8. Qwerty11 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
  9. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #9
    As important as you want. If you want high-speed data transfers within your home, that will work very well.
     
  10. VoR macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Not sure how I ended up on this thread, but...

    Your usage scenario doesn't really matter, get a 1000mbit switch like the one linked - Doesn't really matter what model or brand (unlike soho routers which seem to be luck of the draw).

    It will be tricky to find a 10/100 switch and even if you do, it'll have spent years and years on a shelf and likely save you little to no money over a cheap gigabit model and will quite literally be 1/10 of the speed.
     
  11. Qwerty11 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #11
    My main goal is for distributing HD content through my HTPC. Is 100 Mbps adequate for that?
     
  12. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #12
    I recommend the gigabit. The one linked is only $18 with a Prime account.
     
  13. pmau macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    #13
    Netgear, I have 3 of these. They are really high quality, have no fan and are reliable as hell.
     
  14. COrocket macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #14
    For now it is (Apple TV uses 10/100 ports) but gigabit really isn't that much more expensive and it would definitely leave room for what the future might bring.
     
  15. colodane macrumors 6502a

    colodane

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #15
    To be "future proof" definitely go with a Gigabit switch. They are very reasonably priced. I just purchased a Netgear 5 port GS105v4 from Amazon and am very pleased with it. High quality rugged metal construction and handy indicator LEDs.
     

Share This Page