i need more USB ports on my macbook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lPHONE, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. lPHONE macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #1
  2. tdgrn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
  3. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  4. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #4
    2.0.
    i'm running an mBox, some usb powered speakers, and an m-audio midi controller, and also need one free port for a thumb drive or whatever


    no hubs.
    the whole thing has to run off the mbp battery.
    there is NO ELECTRICITY where we are recording.
     
  5. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    Um...... Perfect lightweight travel tool, this compact Hub tucks easily into the pocket of your laptop bag, and requires no extra power supply.

    Did you even look at the link?:confused:
     
  6. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #6
    interestingly enough, BUY.COM has that express card listed as having 3 USB ports. Can anyone confirm this???
     
  7. Surely Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  8. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #8
    been there, done that, and failed.
    the usb powered hub seems to split the power between all peripherals connected.
    from my tests, i could only have either the mbox plugged in or just the speakers, but with both connected simultaneously, neither would not function. it wouldn't even recognize an external usb 2.0 drive while the mbox was plugged in.


    i'm pretty sure the route i have to take is via EXPRESSCARD, so i'm hoping someone here can report on their success and give a recommendation
     
  9. mikes70mustang macrumors 68000

    mikes70mustang

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    US
    #9
    Sounds pretty ghetto, maybe you should upgrade your recording site. Or get a generator or something, or at least a battery and inverter.
     
  10. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #10
    i'll tell you what's really ghetto: unplugging devices to plug in others. on that note, i would like to add one thing to this discussion in case anyone @  development is reading:

    • the macbook pro is bar far the greatest laptop I've ever owned, but i still haven't seen where the "pro" aspect comes in
    • i know FW is superior- and i've maxed all those ports out as well, but 95% of digital peripherals use usb.
    • by no means am i trying to start another mac vs pc debate- but look at the dell inspiron 6000- it has 6 usb ports. THE POINT IS NOT the fact that it's a pc but rather, it's a $350 laptop.
    • i don't expect anyone to agree with me, (especially here) and i don't regret my $2800 purchase, and this is just my personal opinion alone: i do not think there is anything "pro" about having to unplug devices to plug in other devices. it's kinda... how did you say, ghetto?
    • and before you say "get a mac pro" or something along the lines of "you should have thought about..." i actually did a significant amount of research and weighed in the fact that i would have to use an expresscard for more ports and EVEN THEN, i thought the mbp's lack of ports was a little mediocre, but went ahead and bought it anyway because it's the most awesome laptop there is. :D (fyi, i don't want electricity anywhere near me- it's just me, my cabin and 12 mbp batteries)
    • now, i'm one of those people that upgrades every time a newer version comes out, but the lack of usb AND firewire ports inthe unibody was an instant dealbreaker for me. in that sense, i couldn't think of a reason to buy the unibody this epic thread illustrates that i'm not alone in thinking that the unibody took a step back. i was shocked because i was hoping for MORE PORTS, NOT LESS!
    • so in closing, i am pleading for more ports in the next release. not just usb, but everthing: 2 external monitor ports, 3 FW, 6 USB, hold 1 trillion songs and come in 15 different colors!!!1 :D
     
  11. Jazojas12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #11
    in for MBP coming in this color:
    [​IMG]
     
  12. topgun072003 macrumors 6502

    topgun072003

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Why don't you get a midi-midi cable from your midi controller to the mbox? Then you only need 2 USB ports and go firewire to a external hd if you really want to go crazy! Then you won't have to get an express card.

    Otherwise, get a card with USB ports on it. If you do though, make sure to use the ports connected directly to your computer for the mbox.
     
  13. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #13
    So...you are in the middle of nowhere and are recording. I guess you are recording acoustic source. The problem with more USB ports is each one supplying power for additional devices sucks more power from your laptop battery. Unless you are only going to record for short segments and then return to civilization to recharge your computer your suggestion is impractical.
     
  14. mesq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #14
    Sorry but what is going to power the midi controller?

    What are u recording?

    Pretty much you can ditch your speakers - I can't see any reason why you would need them.
    A firewire 800 interface would be much better for you and leave your USB ports for less intensive stuff.
     
  15. King Mook Mook macrumors 6502

    #15
    You can get eight port (or higher) USB hubs that plug into one of your computers' USB ports. So just plug the two usb hubs' connectors (the power and the data) into the computer and one into the computer itself and the rest of your devices into the hub.

    Some ExpressCard USB Hubs don't work on Mac so that cannot be guaranteed.

    You really don't have any other options.

    King Mook Mook
     
  16. lPHONE, Feb 2, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2011

    lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
  17. mesq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    #17

    Don't understand why you need speakers... Anyway you could always power the speakers from a car battery with inverter.
     
  18. archre macrumors member

    archre

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #18
    daisy-chaining is your answer
     
  19. Sirolway, Feb 2, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2013

    Sirolway macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #19
    Hazards of Love - great, great album :)
     
  20. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #20
    This doesn't seem just a bit inconsistent to you? ;)
     
  21. quadG5guy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #21
    Why then are you using USB? :confused: There's far more options for audio recording with Firewire devices, plus the Firewire port provides more than 3x the amount of bus power that USB does. So you can run many more bus-powered devices off of it (you can daisy-chain up to 127 devices to a single firewire port, no hub required). USB is a joke.
     
  22. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #22
  23. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #23
    Don't agitate him, could be like Ted Kaczynski!

    [​IMG]
     
  24. lPHONE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    lPHONE

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #24
    i'm sorry, i meant "stay" as in stay at home
    but the car battery thing is brilliant
     
  25. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #25
    hehe.. If you are you are using condenser mics on that Mbox and usb speakers AND external storage each one of those dozen batteries is going to last you about 10 mins. Have fun with that...

    You are also going to need to make sure whatever hub you buy gives the full 500mA on each port or you are SOL there too
     

Share This Page