I need serious help from some teckkies

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by capriseyhaze, Mar 20, 2009.

1. capriseyhaze macrumors regular

capriseyhaze

Ok well im slapping a seagate 500gb sata 3.5" 7200 in my uni 17" mbp. Now im a newbie when it comes to hardware. I know how to put it in but i have no clue what to do after. So if someone could give me a step by step guied on what to do or place a link of were i could find it i would really appriciate it. Thank you p.s im going to do a clean install of the os

2. mcavjame macrumors 65816

mcavjame

Are you going to install the OS from scratch or do you want to clone the drive you previously has in the machine?

3. panzer06 macrumors 68030

panzer06

I install the new drive in a FW or USB enclosure and clone my existing install to the new drive using Superduper (there are other methods, I just prefer Superduper). Once the dup is complete, I test the copy by restarting and holding down Option and selecting the new drive to boot from my new copy. If all is well I shutdown and install the new drive in my system.

Cheers,

4. lancestraz macrumors 6502a

lancestraz

Instal Leopard from the disc that came with your computer.

1. Turn your computer on and pop in the disc. You might have to hold down the option key while booting and select the Leopard disc from the ensuing menu.

2. After the OS installer has started there should be a menu item at the top of the screen called "Utilities". Click that and select "Disk Utility" from the submenu.

3. After Disk Utility opens, select your hard drive from the source list on the left. Click on the "Partition" tab. Set the "Volume Scheme" to "One Partition" from the drop down menu. Change the name to "Macintosh HD" or whatever you want. Change the format to "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)". Click on the "Options…" button near the bottom of the window and make sure the "GUID Partition Table" option is selected.