I need some input on how the 2.0 Unibody will hold up for Logic Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by 55orangeave, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. 55orangeave macrumors member

    55orangeave

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    AB, Canada
    #1
    I know it doesn't have firewire, but will there be anything this machine won't be able to do with Logic Pro?

    By the looks of the requirements, I'm pretty safe
    http://www.apple.com/ca/logicstudio/systemrequirements.html

    Macbook Pro would be better for sure but I am sure the unibody can handle it.

    Any help or input would be awesome.

    Thanks Ahead:)
     
  2. cmcbridejr macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #2
    I think it will work just fine for your needs.
     
  3. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #3
    itll be just fine, i run that on my alu macbook, although mine is a 2.4ghz model, i cant see your mac not being able to run it
     
  4. 55orangeave thread starter macrumors member

    55orangeave

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    AB, Canada
    #4
    Oh it can run it. I'm sure of it. I guess I didn't make myself clear. I think I wonder is there anything I won't be able to accomplish at all with the Macbook due to firewire or another disadvantage. I am aware that there are many peripherals out there in usb instead of firewire. Just wondering will there ever be something I cant do, and I don't mean time. I mean literally not be able to accomplish.

    Hope this helps?
     
  5. cmcbridejr macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #5
    You will be fine.

    If you were working with pro video applications, like FCP, then I'd recommend the MBP for the better video card and firewire.

    The MacBook is just fine for audio work. The biggest problem for me would be the lack of firewire, as my sound card is firewire only (M-Audio Project Mix). However, since you do not yet have a sound card, then you will be just fine, as there are certainly USB sound cards for you to purchase.
     
  6. JamesGorman macrumors 65816

    JamesGorman

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #6
    oooo lol..i get it now, but yea, i record with midi, regualr microphones with phantom, and guitar and keyboard inputs and other perhiprials, and its never given me any problem. Most of the interfaces now a days come with usb and FW. almost anything you buy has the capabilities to do both, and besides there are always more and more usb interfaces coming out. The apple website has some good ones, as well as anything from tascam is really good.
     
  7. 55orangeave thread starter macrumors member

    55orangeave

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    AB, Canada
    #7
    All this help has assured me I am making the right decision.

    Thanks for the input guys.
     
  8. cmcbridejr macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #8
    What type of work are you doing?
     
  9. Mikey B macrumors 65816

    Mikey B

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    the island
    #9
    It's going to run great. Even my 1.83 CD WhiteBook handled Logic well. RAM is more important than CPU for Logic.
     
  10. 55orangeave thread starter macrumors member

    55orangeave

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    AB, Canada
    #10
    Just getting started to learn how to use and studying Music Theory.
     

Share This Page