I need some insight on purchasing a new MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bohnje, Sep 13, 2011.

1. bohnje macrumors newbie

I am currently a university student studying computer science and am looking to get a MacBookPro, I currently am using a lower end Sony vaio. Based on the buyers guide page I would wait considering it says there are only a couple weeks left on the cycle. I realize that is very likely not the case and looking at the past cycles it is probably around 300 days from the last refresh which would mean 100ish more days. But if they are going to refresh in 100 days what could they really change, ivy bridge won't be out yet right? I guess they could get rid of the disk drive and male SSD the standard. I'm not sure what to do cause it would be helpful for school and I kinda just want it, but If it refreshes soon with the expected redesign I'm going to feel kinda burned. Any thoughts or opinions. Just an FYI my current computer gets the job done, it's not like ill be losing marks if I don't upgrade

2. Saberon macrumors 6502a

I'm going to give you advice that I wish I had followed many times in my life.

If what you currently have works for you, don't change anything!

Even if they update the MBP this year it will be a very minor change if any. If you don't NEED it urgently, don't get it.

3. Steve's Barber macrumors 6502a

Then why even consider it?

4. bohnje thread starter macrumors newbie

Like I said it will get the job done but it's not a great computer, multi tasking usually causes some lag and I want a more powerful computer for games ( I know that's not exactly the macs forte). Also with some of my classes running osx would be a lot easier because I need a compiler that is only on osx and Linux. My last point is that I really want to have lion over win7, not that win7 isn't great but I'm just ready for something different

5. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123